• May 5, 2016
May 05, 2016, 2:43:07 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please Log In to participate in forums.
News: Talk about how to cope with chronic illness, disability, and other health issues in the academic workplace.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: NSF GRFP advice  (Read 5338 times)
lady_steam

« on: May 06, 2009, 10:14:48 pm »

Im applying for the NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program this fall and Im wondering if anyone has any advice, either as a past applicant or winner, or as a member of a proposal evaluation committee. I searched on the fora but I didnt find anything on this. I have already contacted some past winners at my grad school, but any tips would be helpful. Im applying in the life sciences, and my PhD program is in Molecular Genetics. I have a lot of relevant research experience, and have published 2 papers as first author in mid to high impact journals (Impact factor over 5.0), even though Im still in my first year of grad school.

I have a good handle on my proposed research; Im specifically wondering (1) how to meet NSF Broader Impacts criteria, and (2) how important are undergrad grades? I have a 3.0 GPA from undergrad, but because I had extensive independent research experience I squeaked by into a top 20 grad program. Here I have a 4.0 and Ive gotten an A+ in most of my classes, which is rare in my program.

Any tips appreciated!
jgp32

« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2009, 10:18:21 am »