• June 29, 2016
June 29, 2016, 8:43:53 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please Log In to participate in forums.
News: Talk about how to cope with chronic illness, disability, and other health issues in the academic workplace.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Work Signature - Add Degree Abbreviation?  (Read 11303 times)
javagai

« on: August 15, 2008, 10:58:58 am »

Hi all,

I work full time as a staff member in a learning center, particularly running the writing tutoring component.  In my position, I communicate with faculty, deans, students, and librarians.  I have a relevant MA and am a dissertation stage PhD Candidate but so far have not had these education titles added to my email signature.  It now includes only my position title.

My question is should I add the MA and PhD Candidate tag after my name? I wondered if it might help communicate to everyone that I am actively involved in scholarly research and help raise the profile of my center.

Then again, since I don't actually have the PhD yet, I feared it might just seem like I'm trying too hard.

Thank you!

javagai
gennimom
Somewhat Southern (Have I really posted that much?)
Distinguished Senior Member

Let's get summer over with! Me want snow!

« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2008, 11:21:10 am »

The MA would be okay, but I wouldn't add PhD Candidate, or worse, ABD after your name. The impressions I've gotten from these fora is the last two would be pretentious.

...only after reading gm's post, my new mantra is "always listen to gennimom".
Monday reeks! - Garfield
The outside of a horse is good for the inside of a person (or something like that).
expatinuk
Has spent over 1000 pounds but now holds a Brit passport!

From SC living in UK ...on an adventure in Dubai

« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2008, 12:41:47 pm »

No... do not add the MA after your name. It just looks silly. Unless, of course, you live in the UK where everyone puts all the alphabet after a name!

Expatinuk, BA, MMA, MMC, Ph.D. FRSA, FEADiM