PicoFeed The Chronicle of Higher Education | WorldWise http://chronicle.com/section/WorldWise/458 2015-11-28T17:07:44-05:00 The Chronicle of Higher Education In International-Student Recruitment, Questions About Integrity Persist http://chronicle.com/blogs/worldwise/in-international-student-recruitment-questions-about-integrity-persist/34085 2014-07-15T14:56:23-04:00 The debate over the use of agents in recruitment has quieted, but colleges still struggle to weed out fraud in applications from China and elsewhere. Can Overseas Branch Campuses Reflect Local Values? http://chronicle.com/blogs/worldwise/can-overseas-branch-campuses-reflect-local-values/33537 2014-07-08T11:05:36-04:00 Examples from Africa show how higher education still must reflect national cultures, say Kevin Kinser and Jason Lane. Academic Freedom Overseas: Hopes and Obstacles http://chronicle.com/blogs/worldwise/academic-freedom-overseas-hopes-and-obstacles/34047 2014-07-03T11:02:22-04:00 An American professor at the University of the South Pacific finds colleagues there stymied by a restrictive policy on conference travel. A Syrian Student's Fragile Hope for Higher Education http://chronicle.com/blogs/worldwise/a-syrian-students-fragile-hope-for-a-higher-education/34011 2014-07-01T10:34:46-04:00 Even the simple task of taking a test to graduate from high school is fraught with danger and political issues, says an expert in a Syria research group. Reflections From a Global Provost http://chronicle.com/blogs/worldwise/reflections-from-a-global-provost/33959 2014-06-25T10:59:47-04:00 Peter N. Stearns, provost of George Mason University, offers six lessons in how to create an international university. A Failure to Capitalize on Globalization http://chronicle.com/blogs/worldwise/a-failure-to-capitalize-on-globalization/33965 2014-06-18T12:06:47-04:00 Many university presidents are missing the crucial opportunity to fully internationalize their campuses, say two international educators. Mexico Gets Serious About R&D http://chronicle.com/blogs/worldwise/mexico-gets-serious-about-rd/33941 2014-06-13T11:30:24-04:00 The country is increasing its spending on science and graduate programs, changes that universities in the United States should keep an eye on, says Marion Lloyd. Down Under or Upside Down? Higher-Education Reforms in Australia http://chronicle.com/blogs/worldwise/down-under-or-upside-down-higher-education-reforms-in-australia/33923 2014-06-06T14:32:58-04:00 The government wants to adopt parts of the American higher-education model. Is that really a good idea? Even in the U.S., Chinese Students May Have Tiananmen 'Amnesia' http://chronicle.com/blogs/worldwise/even-in-the-u-s-chinese-students-may-have-tiananmen-amnesia/33907 2014-06-04T14:27:46-04:00 While freed from China's Internet censors and other restrictions, these students don't necessarily experience a political awakening during their time in the United States. A Global Push to Reduce Dropout Rates http://chronicle.com/blogs/worldwise/a-global-push-to-reduce-dropout-rates/33761 2014-06-03T11:30:54-04:00 As in the United States, Britain and other countries are trying to get students to complete their degrees, says Nigel Thrift. NYU's Promise of Academic Freedom in Abu Dhabi Is 'Essentially Worthless' http://chronicle.com/blogs/worldwise/nyus-promise-of-academic-freedom-in-abu-dhabi-is-essentially-worthless/33859 2014-05-29T14:51:46-04:00 If the university can’t guarantee that laborers on its United Arab Emirates campus are treated fairly, how can it guarantee that its professors there can teach without concern? Matt J. Duffy explains. The Humanities Are Awash in Wasteful Research http://chronicle.com/blogs/worldwise/the-humanities-are-awash-in-wasteful-research/33821 2014-05-19T12:07:53-04:00 When it comes to support for university research in Australia, one lecturer says, "More budget cuts, please." Obama's Rating System: an International Perspective http://chronicle.com/blogs/worldwise/obamas-rating-system-an-international-perspective/33805 2014-05-08T11:41:48-04:00 Given the global surge in interest in university rankings, American colleges should have anticipated the president's plan, says Ellen Hazelkorn. Why Europe Still Matters in Study Abroad http://chronicle.com/blogs/worldwise/why-europe-still-matters-in-study-abroad/33777 2014-04-28T13:33:54-04:00 Sending students to developing countries is in vogue, but so-called traditional locations still offer rich educational environments, says Michael Woolf. Civility in Academe, and the Lack of It http://chronicle.com/blogs/worldwise/civility-in-academe-and-the-lack-of-it/33395 2014-04-15T11:43:40-04:00 Academics appear to have become more courteous to one another, but nasty online rants remain pervasive, says Nigel Thrift. Embracing the New Globalism: a Challenge to Rethink Study Abroad http://chronicle.com/blogs/worldwise/embracing-the-new-globalism-a-challenge-to-rethink-study-abroad/33733 2014-04-03T00:30:22-04:00 If overseas programs aren't revamped for a generation of globally minded students, they risk becoming marginalized, says William G. Durden. Learning From the Southern Hemisphere http://chronicle.com/blogs/worldwise/learning-from-the-southern-hemisphere/33717 2014-03-28T11:37:35-04:00 Australia and Indonesia are on the vanguard of important developments in higher education that the world should be watching, says Nigel Thrift. 3 Ways to Help Make 'Generation Study Abroad' a Success http://chronicle.com/blogs/worldwise/3-ways-to-help-make-generation-study-abroad-a-success/33667 2014-03-12T04:58:06-04:00 Previous big efforts to expand overseas study have failed; here's how the latest push can avoid their mistakes, writes Mark Salisbury, of Augustana College in Illinois. Controversial University Policies Undergird Protests in Venezuela http://chronicle.com/blogs/worldwise/controversial-university-policies-undergird-protests-in-venezuela/33641 2014-03-10T13:14:28-04:00 While the focus has rightfully been on the violent crackdown, higher education is at the heart of the fight, says Marion Lloyd.   Seeing Small Times: a New Frontier in Social Science http://chronicle.com/blogs/worldwise/seeing-small-times-a-new-frontier-in-social-science/33609 2014-02-28T12:15:08-05:00 In the digital age, societal trends can grow in short amounts of time, calling for a new way to study human behavior, says Nigel Thrift.