PicoFeed The Chronicle of Higher Education | ProfHacker http://chronicle.com/section/ProfHacker/438/ 2016-05-02T19:19:33-04:00 The Chronicle of Higher Education Tools for an Effective Workflow http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/tools-for-an-effective-workflow/62086 2016-04-28T08:00:46-04:00 We all have favorite tools for working efficiently. Amy Cavender shares some of hers, and invites readers to do the same. 5 Ways to Make End-of-Semester Grading More Enjoyable http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/5-ways-to-make-end-of-semester-grading-more-enjoyable/62067 2016-04-27T08:00:21-04:00 Grading might not be fun, exactly, but here are some suggestions from Maha Bali that demonstrate it need not be an unpleasant activity. Text Analysis With Voyant 2.0 http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/voyant-2-0/62052 2016-04-26T08:00:39-04:00 Looking at the recently updated web-based text analysis tool, Voyant 2.0. Reflecting on Grids and Gestures http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/reflecting-on-grids-and-gestures/62048 2016-04-25T08:20:49-04:00 Following a week of #gridsgestures comics journaling, Anastasia Salter takes a look at the results and the potential of the approach for ongoing learning. What I Learned from Student-Created Learning Taxonomies http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/what-i-learned-from-student-created-learning-taxonomies/62014 2016-04-18T08:00:30-04:00 Maha Bali reflects on an assignment she gave her students to create their own learning taxonomies. Thinking through Comics with Nick Sousanis's Grids & Gestures http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/thinking-through-comics-with-nick-sousaniss-grids-gestures/62027 2016-04-15T08:00:31-04:00 This week, Nick Sousanis is encouraging scholars, students, and aspiring artists alike to join in to share "Grids & Gestures." Anastasia Salter takes a look at this exercise. Through Another's Eyes: Troubleshooting with User Switching http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/through-anothers-eyes-troubleshooting-with-user-switching/62003 2016-04-14T08:00:00-04:00 Sometimes, you really need to see something the way someone else sees it. Amy Cavender points readers to a plugin that makes troubleshooting easier by letting you do just that in WordPress. Research Day @AUC - do we need more such cross-disciplinary campus events? http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/research-day-auc-do-we-need-more-such-cross-disciplinary-campus-events/62009 2016-04-13T08:00:47-04:00 Maha Bali reflects on the first Research Day at the American University in Cairo.   Going Low-Tech with Paper To-Do Lists http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/going-low-tech-with-paper-to-do-lists/61994 2016-04-11T08:00:42-04:00 Anastasia Salter discusses why she's left behind her search for the perfect to-do list app, and instead settled on the right pad of paper. Backup and Development with Installatron http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/backup-and-development-with-installatron/61974 2016-04-07T08:00:07-04:00 Backing up WordPress sites and using a development environment to test site changes before making them live are both important, but doing these tasks manually can be burdensome. Amy Cavender introduces readers to a tool that can simplify both tasks. Looking for an Exchange Calendar for Mac? Try Fantastical 2.2 http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/looking-for-an-exchange-calendar-for-mac-try-fantastical-2-2/61988 2016-04-04T15:35:54-04:00 One of the best-reviewed Mac calendar apps finally adds native support for Exchange. Jason Jones takes a look. Twitter Enhances Accessibility with Alt Text for Images http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/twitter-enhances-accessibility-with-alt-text-for-images/61980 2016-04-01T12:17:34-04:00 This new accessibility feature, so far available only for the iOS and Android Twitter apps, will improve the social-media experience for users who are blind or have low vision.   Showcasing Digital Student Work http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/showcasing-digital-student-work/61921 2016-03-31T08:00:45-04:00 Many of our classes produce awesome digital work, but it is usually hidden from the larger campus community within learning-management systems. Anastasia Salter looks at strategies for showcasing projects at your institution.   Framing Annotation http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/framing-annotation/61963 2016-03-30T11:52:58-04:00 Open annotation platforms are great . . . until they aren't. Jason Jones looks at one problem that emerges when anyone can mark up any page. When Should You Reply to Email? http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/when-should-you-reply-to-email/61954 2016-03-29T08:00:47-04:00 ProfHacker's Natalie M. Houston offers tips for managing the endless flow of email. Digital Distractions: Interactive Cats http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/digital-distractions-interactive-cats/61910 2016-03-28T08:00:05-04:00 Anastasia Salter takes a look at a few cool recent interactive works centered on what the Internet loves best: cats. Making Beginnings Out of Endings - @DigPedLab Cairo #DigPed http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/making-beginnings-out-of-endings-digpedlab-cairo-digped/61924 2016-03-25T09:34:38-04:00 Maha Bali reflects on the beginnings that came from ending Digital Pedagogy Lab Cairo. Experimenting with Specifications Grading http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/experimenting-with-specifications-grading/61912 2016-03-23T08:00:34-04:00 How does specifications grading work in an introductory media class? And what *is* the difference between "meets" and "exceeds" expectations, anyway? Curing the Blue Light Blues http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/curing-the-blue-light-blues/61904 2016-03-22T08:00:02-04:00 Do you find yourself staying up later than you'd like while using your phone or tablet? ProfHacker's Natalie M. Houston offers some strategies to minimize your exposure to blue light. Planning a Successful Virtual Class Visit http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/planning-a-successful-virtual-class-visit/61885 2016-03-21T08:00:37-04:00 Anastasia Salter takes a look at strategies for getting the most out of a "virtual" classroom speaker.