PicoFeed The Chronicle of Higher Education | ProfHacker http://chronicle.com/section/ProfHacker/438/ 2016-07-28T22:13:26-04:00 The Chronicle of Higher Education Summer Publishing Break http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/summer-publishing-break/62505 2016-07-15T19:29:45-04:00 Advice for Content-Independent Teaching http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/content-independent-teaching/62493 2016-07-15T08:52:44-04:00 Maha Bali explains how to teach a course that's not organized around a canonical body of content (and why you might want to). Free Course: Social-Media Analytics http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/free-course-social-media-analytics/62413 2016-07-14T08:18:00-04:00 Lee Skallerup Bessette provides a quick look at a course to be offered this summer. Start Doing Things on the Command Line with Script Ahoy http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/start-doing-things-on-the-command-line-with-script-ahoy/62489 2016-07-13T08:00:17-04:00 Script Ahoy is a community resource for librarians, archivists, and others who might need to do work from their computer's command line, but who might need a reminder of exactly what command to use or what flag to set. Digital Distractions: Pokemon Go http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/digital-distractions-pokemon-go/62467 2016-07-12T11:14:58-04:00 Anastasia Salter takes a look at the new augmented reality game, Pokemon Go, whose wandering critters are already likely invading a campus near you. 3 Tips for Getting (and Staying) Fit http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/3-tips-for-getting-and-staying-fit/62480 2016-07-11T08:00:54-04:00 Weekend Reading: Nothing Good To Say http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/weekend-reading-nothing-good-to-say/62471 2016-07-08T15:04:15-04:00 Some links on pedagogy, obsolescence, justice, and self-care to take us into the weekend. Against Helplessness http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/against-helplessness/62455 2016-07-07T16:00:07-04:00 What you can do to foster police accountability, further police reform, and end police violence. Smithsonian Learning Lab Allows for Interdisciplinary Research and Discovery http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/smithsonian-learning-lab-allows-for-interdisciplinary-research-and-discovery/62417 2016-07-06T08:55:23-04:00 Lee Skallerup Bessette provides an overview of a platform that allows users to access and curate the millions of resources across all of the 19 Smithsonian museums, nine research institutes, and the National Zoo. Two Great Tools for the Timezone-Challenged from World Time Buddy http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/two-great-tools-for-the-timezone-challenged-from-world-time-buddy/62432 2016-07-05T09:38:32-04:00 Maha Bali shares her favorite tools for working across multiple time zones.   The Power of Looking Closely http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/the-power-of-looking-closely/62437 2016-07-01T12:50:07-04:00 To start off the long holiday weekend, here's a video describing the difficulty and utility of describing what one sees precisely. Plain Language and Inclusive Document Design http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/plain-language-and-inclusive-document-design/62414 2016-06-30T16:05:12-04:00 Here are some basic principles for making any document — from handouts to signage — more inclusive.   Like Evernote? Be Aware of Pricing Changes http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/like-evernote-be-aware-of-pricing-changes/62403 2016-06-29T13:38:30-04:00 Evernote, the popular software for notetaking and information-harvesting, has announced some changes in pricing. Here's a look at what to expect. How to Quickly Extract Media from Slide Decks http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/how-to-quickly-extract-media-from-slide-decks/62397 2016-06-28T13:34:22-04:00 Sometimes, you'd like to quickly re-use images from a PowerPoint or Keynote file for other purposes. Here's an easy way to do that. Shrubs: A Refreshing Summer Drink http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/shrubs/62391 2016-06-27T09:08:58-04:00 Make a More Inclusive Syllabus with Tulane's Accessible Syllabus Project http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/make-a-more-inclusive-syllabus-with-tulanes-accessible-syllabus-project/62386 2016-06-24T12:38:33-04:00 Tulane's Accessible Syllabus project assembles handy resources for making any syllabus more accessible, inclusive, and engaging. Preparing for the Press: How to Talk to Reporters http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/preparing-for-the-press-how-to-talk-to-reporters/62382 2016-06-23T15:17:03-04:00 Talking to reporters needn't be terrifying. Here are some links with suggestions for preparing. Open Thread Wednesday: Digital Life After Death http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/open-thread-wednesday-digital-life-after-death/62375 2016-06-22T08:00:57-04:00 Maha Bali asks what happens to our digital identities and property when we die? Our website, domain names, and our Amazon and iTunes libraries? Review: The Videographic Essay - Criticism in Sound & Image http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/review-the-videographic-essay-criticism-in-sound-image/62304 2016-06-21T08:00:53-04:00 A review of a new book on producing scholarship on and using video. #PulseOrlandoSyllabus: a Crowdsourced Teaching Resource http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/pulseorlandosyllabus/62357 2016-06-20T08:00:08-04:00 In the wake of the shooting in Orlando, Anastasia Salter takes a look at the #PulseOrlando syllabus of suggested reading and class material.