PicoFeed The Chronicle of Higher Education | ProfHacker http://chronicle.com/section/ProfHacker/438/ 2016-07-02T05:31:14-04:00 The Chronicle of Higher Education The Power of Looking Closely http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/the-power-of-looking-closely/62437 2016-07-01T12:50:07-04:00 To start off the long holiday weekend, here's a video describing the difficulty and utility of describing what one sees precisely. Plain Language and Inclusive Document Design http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/plain-language-and-inclusive-document-design/62414 2016-06-30T16:05:12-04:00 Here are some basic principles for making any document — from handouts to signage — more inclusive.   Like Evernote? Be Aware of Pricing Changes http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/like-evernote-be-aware-of-pricing-changes/62403 2016-06-29T13:38:30-04:00 Evernote, the popular software for notetaking and information-harvesting, has announced some changes in pricing. Here's a look at what to expect. How to Quickly Extract Media from Slide Decks http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/how-to-quickly-extract-media-from-slide-decks/62397 2016-06-28T13:34:22-04:00 Sometimes, you'd like to quickly re-use images from a PowerPoint or Keynote file for other purposes. Here's an easy way to do that. Shrubs: A Refreshing Summer Drink http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/shrubs/62391 2016-06-27T09:08:58-04:00 Make a More Inclusive Syllabus with Tulane's Accessible Syllabus Project http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/make-a-more-inclusive-syllabus-with-tulanes-accessible-syllabus-project/62386 2016-06-24T12:38:33-04:00 Tulane's Accessible Syllabus project assembles handy resources for making any syllabus more accessible, inclusive, and engaging. Preparing for the Press: How to Talk to Reporters http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/preparing-for-the-press-how-to-talk-to-reporters/62382 2016-06-23T15:17:03-04:00 Talking to reporters needn't be terrifying. Here are some links with suggestions for preparing. Open Thread Wednesday: Digital Life After Death http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/open-thread-wednesday-digital-life-after-death/62375 2016-06-22T08:00:57-04:00 Maha Bali asks what happens to our digital identities and property when we die? Our website, domain names, and our Amazon and iTunes libraries? Review: The Videographic Essay - Criticism in Sound & Image http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/review-the-videographic-essay-criticism-in-sound-image/62304 2016-06-21T08:00:53-04:00 A review of a new book on producing scholarship on and using video. #PulseOrlandoSyllabus: a Crowdsourced Teaching Resource http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/pulseorlandosyllabus/62357 2016-06-20T08:00:08-04:00 In the wake of the shooting in Orlando, Anastasia Salter takes a look at the #PulseOrlando syllabus of suggested reading and class material. New WordPress Plugin for Hypothes.is http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/new-wordpress-plugin-for-hypothes-is/62360 2016-06-17T08:00:24-04:00 George H. Williams explains the basics of a new WordPress plugin that works with the web annotation tool Hypothes.is. Review: Revisiting Smartwatches with the Garmin Forerunner 235 http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/review-revisiting-smartwatches-with-the-garmin-forerunner-235/62243 2016-06-16T08:05:41-04:00 Anastasia Salter reviews the Garmin Forerunner 235 after spending a month with it as a smartwatch and fitness tracker. Choosing Professional Development Events - And My Pick for This Summer http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/choosing-professional-development-events-and-my-pick-for-this-summer/62344 2016-06-15T08:23:47-04:00 Everyone's opportunities for professional development are limited — by funding, by geography, or by time. Maha Bali offers some strategies for maximizing networking opportunities at such events.   Letting Your Calendar Breathe http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/letting-your-calendar-breathe/62350 2016-06-14T08:30:08-04:00 Planning is great, but an overstuffed calendar can lead to constantly feeling overwhelmed. Here's a way to make sure you always have at least some time to get a handle on things. How Are You Having Fun This Summer? http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/how-are-you-having-fun-this-summer/62309 2016-06-13T08:00:26-04:00 Lee Skallerup Bessette considers the importance of fun and why we often avoid talking about it. Completing To-Do Lists http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/completing-to-do-lists/62338 2016-06-10T08:00:39-04:00 To-do lists can become like quicksand, trapping one in a sense of despair rather than confidently powering one through the the day. Here's a strategy for keeping lists manageable. Software that Supports Multilingual Dialogue http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/software-that-supports-multilingual-dialogue/62200 2016-06-09T08:00:05-04:00 Maha Bali explores the potential of current software for enabling multilingual dialogue. New Keywords on Digital Pedagogy http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/digital-pedagogy-keywords/62329 2016-06-08T12:52:11-04:00 The editors of the MLA's forthcoming volume on Digital Pedagogy in the Humanities have released new keywords for review. Here's the list. Writing on a Plane? http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/writing-on-a-plane/62241 2016-06-07T08:00:01-04:00 With summer-conference season in full swing, Anastasia Salter shares strategies for working in the tight quarters of an airplane.   Why You Just Lost 20 Minutes to the Internet http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/why-you-just-lost-20-minutes-to-the-internet/62244 2016-06-06T08:00:20-04:00 What if the apps you use were designed to let you know how much time they'd take up? ProfHacker's Natalie M. Houston discusses the Time Well Spent design movement.