PicoFeed The Chronicle of Higher Education | ProfHacker http://chronicle.com/section/ProfHacker/438/ 2016-02-12T21:39:04-05:00 The Chronicle of Higher Education The Storm of Creativity: Meditating, Not (Necessarily) Producing http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/the-storm-of-creativity-meditating-not-necessarily-producing/61653 2016-02-12T08:00:53-05:00 The guest author Janine Utell reviews The Storm of Creativity, a book by Kyna Leski that reflects on the nature of creativity and creative processes.   Accessing Your WordPress Database with Adminer http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/accessing-your-wordpress-database-with-adminer/61670 2016-02-11T08:00:32-05:00 What do you do if you need access to the WordPress database, but you don't have access through phpMyAdmin? Amy Cavender offers one possible solution. Are You Fully Charged? http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/are-you-fully-charged/61713 2016-02-10T08:00:27-05:00 ProfHacker's Natalie M. Houston reviews Tom Rath's Are You Fully Charged?   Open Source Assignments for Non-Programming Classes http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/open-source-assignments-for-non-programming-classes/61676 2016-02-09T08:00:04-05:00 Maha Bali debates the pros and cons of assigning an open-source project to her students in educational-game design.   Making Games with Browser-Based Flowlab.io http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/making-games-with-browser-based-flowlab-io/61674 2016-02-08T08:00:33-05:00 Anastasia Salter takes a look at teaching with Flowlab.io, a browser-based game-making tool for beginners. Consider Perforating Your Meetings http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/consider-perforating-meetings/61626 2016-02-04T08:00:25-05:00 Maha Bali shares her experience of virtually joining a "perforated" meeting with Michael Berman and his team at CSU Channel Islands, and wonders if this idea is scalable. Open Thread Wednesday: Conducting Observations in Online Classes http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/open-thread-wednesday-conducting-observations-in-online-classes/61662 2016-02-03T15:00:51-05:00 Anastasia Salter takes a look at methods for evaluating your own and others' online classes. Protecting Your Site with BackWPup http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/protecting-your-site-with-backwpup/61633 2016-02-02T08:00:21-05:00 If you run a website, you need reliable backups. Amy Cavender introduces readers to a plugin that can get the job done for WordPress sites. Host Synchronous Video Chats with Blab http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/blab-video-chats/61564 2016-02-01T10:00:34-05:00 Maha Bali explains why educators should consider using Blab for real-time communication. Digital Scholarship with Scalar 2 http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/digital-scholarship-with-scalar-2/61585 2016-01-28T08:00:58-05:00 Anastasia Salter takes a look at Scalar 2, the Alliance for Networking Visual Culture's responsive platform for digital scholarly publishing.   Managing References with Paperpile http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/managing-references-with-paperpile/61592 2016-01-27T08:00:36-05:00 Amy Cavender introduces readers to a reference manager that can work very well for a mobile, cross-platform workflow.   Hospitality for Virtual Presenters http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/virtual-presenters/61557 2016-01-26T08:00:39-05:00 Maha Bali offers tips for how to welcome virtual presenters at events.   Making Comics as Scholarship http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/making-comics-as-scholarship/61579 2016-01-25T08:00:07-05:00 Anastasia Salter shares "Comics as Scholarship," a new special issue of Digital Humanities Quarterly dedicated to exploring the potential for comics as an alternative to the traditional scholarly essay.   SLICKS Travel Backpack – Review http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/slicks-travel-backpack-review/61534 2016-01-22T10:07:25-05:00 A review of the SLICKS backpack travel system. Scaling Up Courses http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/scaling-up-courses/61512 2016-01-21T09:16:27-05:00 With the new semester upon us, Anastasia Salter looks at strategies for revising a syllabus in preparation for a larger class size. Three Words for the New Semester http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/three-words-for-the-new-semester/61527 2016-01-20T08:00:15-05:00 ProfHacker's Natalie M. Houston offers a simple approach to focus your intentions and goals for the new semester. Context Matters in Social Media http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/context-matters-in-social-media/61522 2016-01-19T08:00:35-05:00 Maha Bali discusses the importance of context in making social-media interactions meaningful, and the challenges we face when we do not have context to support our conversations. E-Portfolios Are Not the Fitbit of Higher Education http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/e-portfolios-are-not-the-fitbit-of-higher-education/61517 2016-01-15T12:27:33-05:00 Are e-portfolios the equivalent of educational FitBits? Jason B. Jones, who likes both Fitbits and e-portfolios, recoils in horror. What I Like About Hypothes.is http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/what-i-like-about-hypothes-is/61505 2016-01-13T10:37:01-05:00 Maha Bali shares her experience learning about Hypothes.is for web annotation and how she plans to use her favorite feature: public annotation Doing Focused Work in Distracted Times: Cal Newport's Deep Work http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/doing-focused-work-in-distracted-times-cal-newports-deep-work/61497 2016-01-12T09:54:33-05:00 Jason B. Jones reviews Cal Newport's new book, Deep Work: Rules for Focused Success in a Distracted World.