PicoFeed The Chronicle of Higher Education | ProfHacker http://chronicle.com/section/ProfHacker/438/ 2016-08-24T02:46:26-04:00 The Chronicle of Higher Education Making Room http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/making-room/62638 2016-08-23T08:00:28-04:00 ProfHacker's Natalie M. Houston offers a key question for reflection as we head into the fall. Student-Centered Design Within an LMS http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/student-centered-design-within-a-lms/62586 2016-08-22T08:00:41-04:00 Given the potentially overwhelming interfaces of university learning management systems, Anastasia Salter suggests strategies for organizing online course materials. Weekend Reading: Semester Gets Underway Edition http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/weekend-reading-semester-gets-underway-edition/62628 2016-08-19T15:00:04-04:00 Switching from Evernote to OneNote, part 2 http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/switching-from-evernote-to-onenote-part-2/62621 2016-08-18T08:00:52-04:00 In her last post, Amy Cavender offered her reasons for making the switch to OneNote. Here she addresses things to consider when making the switch. Open Thread Wednesday: Strategies for Summer-Fall Transitions http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/open-thread-wednesday-strategies-for-summer-fall-transitions/62582 2016-08-17T08:00:43-04:00 With the end of summer upon us, Anastasia Salter shares some tips for preparing for the academic new year. From the Archives: Preparing for the New Semester http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/from-the-archives-preparing-for-the-new-semester/62610 2016-08-16T08:00:53-04:00 ProfHacker's Natalie M. Houston offers a selection of tips on syllabus design, teaching preparation, and other ways to prepare for the fall semester. CAST Figuration Seeks to Make Bootstrap More Accessible http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/cast-figuration-seeks-to-make-bootstrap-more-accessible/62603 2016-08-15T08:00:26-04:00 The Accessible Educational Materials Center has released a new web development framework designed to prioritize accessibility as well as compatibility with mobile devices. Weekend Reading: End of Pokemon Summer http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/weekend-reading-end-of-pokemon-summer/62593 2016-08-12T08:00:48-04:00 Anastasia Salter shares several readings on technology and education from this week. Switching from Evernote to OneNote, part 1 http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/switching-from-evernote-to-onenote-part-1/62568 2016-08-11T08:00:44-04:00 After Evernote's recent price hike, Amy Cavender considers the wisdom of making the switch to OneNote. Does Your Teaching Encourage Epistemological Pluralism? http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/does-your-teaching-encourage-epistemological-pluralism/62555 2016-08-10T08:14:57-04:00 Teachers and peers alike need to accept and nurture "multiple ways of knowing and thinking.” Estimating Student Workload for Your Courses http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/estimating-student-workload-for-your-courses/62515 2016-08-08T08:00:07-04:00 ProfHacker's Natalie M. Houston reviews a tool to help estimate student work hours for your course reading and assignments. Use a Blogging Client as a Backup Method http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/blog-client-backup/62546 2016-08-05T08:00:01-04:00 Should your blog get deleted, you could still have a local copy to republish somewhere else.     Project Arclight: a Digital Humanities Approach to Media Studies http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/project-arclight/62510 2016-08-04T08:00:07-04:00 For those looking to get started with this approach, Lee Skallerup Bessette recommends the Arclight App and its accompanying guidebook.   Getting Things Done with TaskPaper http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/getting-things-done-with-taskpaper/62539 2016-08-03T09:52:52-04:00 Guest author Nabeel Siddiqui looks at the advantages of keeping a plain-text to-do list. How to Keep Your Laptop from Overusing Bandwidth on the Road http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/how-to-keep-your-laptop-from-overusing-bandwidth-on-the-road/62528 2016-08-02T11:40:26-04:00 Your phone understands whether you're on data or wifi, but your laptop doesn't. Jason B. Jones discusses an app that lets you choose which programs get to access the internet when you're on the road. Opting for Renewable Assessments http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/opting-for-renewable-assessments/62523 2016-08-01T15:42:01-04:00 Frustrated by reading the same disconnected assignments every year? Consider assessments that create something people can actually use. Summer Publishing Break http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/summer-publishing-break/62505 2016-07-15T19:29:45-04:00 Advice for Content-Independent Teaching http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/content-independent-teaching/62493 2016-07-15T08:52:44-04:00 Maha Bali explains how to teach a course that's not organized around a canonical body of content (and why you might want to). Free Course: Social-Media Analytics http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/free-course-social-media-analytics/62413 2016-07-14T08:18:00-04:00 Lee Skallerup Bessette provides a quick look at a course to be offered this summer. Start Doing Things on the Command Line with Script Ahoy http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/start-doing-things-on-the-command-line-with-script-ahoy/62489 2016-07-13T08:00:17-04:00 Script Ahoy is a community resource for librarians, archivists, and others who might need to do work from their computer's command line, but who might need a reminder of exactly what command to use or what flag to set.