PicoFeed The Chronicle of Higher Education | ProfHacker http://chronicle.com/section/ProfHacker/438 2015-11-24T19:14:11-05:00 The Chronicle of Higher Education Beyond Textbooks and OER: reflecting on #OpenEd15 http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/beyond-textbooks-and-oer-reflecting-on-opened15/61342 2015-11-23T11:51:03-05:00 Maha Bali reflects on open textbooks in the wake of #OpenEd15. Wrapping Up A Large Online Course http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/wrapping-up-a-large-online-course/61324 2015-11-20T11:00:01-05:00 Anastasia Salter continues her series on teaching large-scale online courses with strategies for end-of-semester review and updates. Open Access & Copyright: A View from the South http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/open-access-copyright-a-view-from-the-south/61308 2015-11-17T10:11:54-05:00 Maha Bali shares a global south perspective on open access and copyright. Introducing Open Library of the Humanities http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/introducing-open-library-of-the-humanities/61276 2015-11-10T08:20:21-05:00 An initiative out of Britain seeks to make open-access scholarship in the humanities sustainable. When the Technology Changes on You http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/when-the-technology-changes-on-you/61291 2015-11-09T08:00:05-05:00 When we use technology extensively in our teaching (or work in general, really), how do we handle unexpected changes in that technology? Here are some thoughts and workarounds. The Games Art Historians Play: Online Game-based Learning in Art History and Museum Contexts http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/the-games-art-historians-play-online-game-based-learning-in-art-history-and-museum-contexts/61263 2015-11-03T08:00:26-05:00 The guest author Anne McClanan discusses the pedagogical utility of incorporating gaming into art history and museum studies. Digital Distractions: Halloween Edition http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/digital-distractions-halloween-edition/61221 2015-10-29T08:00:16-04:00 Anastasia Salter recommends several Halloween-appropriate digital distractions. Digital Writing Month: Striving for Inclusion in Open Online Learning http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/digiwrimo15/61207 2015-10-28T08:00:09-04:00 How do you facilitate an inclusive, open online-learning experience? Maha Bali writes about her experience as co-facilitator of Digital Writing Month. Making a WordPress Site Multilingual http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/making-a-wordpress-site-multilingual/61239 2015-10-27T08:00:52-04:00 There's a lot of translating work involved in running a multilingual website, but managing the site's multilingual content can be a challenge, too. Amy Cavender points readers to a plugin that may help WordPress users. Managing Macs & PCs in Online Courses http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/managing-macs-pcs-in-online-courses/61219 2015-10-26T08:00:38-04:00 Anastasia Salter takes a look at handling the Mac versus Windows PC software divide when planning project-based online courses. It's Not Too Late: Making Mid-Course Adjustments http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/its-not-too-late-making-mid-course-adjustments/61228 2015-10-22T11:00:28-04:00 ProfHacker's Natalie M. Houston suggests some questions to consider. Making Games for Web and iOS with Stencyl http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/making-games-for-web-and-ios-with-stencyl/61204 2015-10-20T08:00:36-04:00 Anastasia Salter continues her series on free game-making tools for the classroom with a look at Stencyl, a 2D game maker for Mac and PC. Tweeting with Collaborators: Group Tweet vs TweetDeck Teams http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/tweeting-with-collaborators-group-tweet-vs-tweetdeck-teams/61184 2015-10-18T18:01:27-04:00 Have you ever worked with a team of different people, all of you needing access to the same Twitter account (representing an organization or project you all work on) at different times? Maha Bali compares GroupTweet and TweetDeck Teams.   Visualizing Your Searches with Trailblazer http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/visualizing-your-searches-with-trailblazer/61174 2015-10-14T08:00:17-04:00 Trailblazer.io is a plugin for Chrome that allows you to track, save, and visualize your Internet searches. Lee Skallerup Bessette explores ways to use it as a tool with her students. 6 Steps to Expanding a Successful Online Initiative - Virtually Connecting http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/6-steps-to-expanding-a-successful-online-initiative-virtually-connecting/61179 2015-10-13T10:06:08-04:00 Maha Bali and Rebecca Hogue share some insights about starting grassroots online initiatives, based on their Virtually Connecting project. Security Housekeeping http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/security-housekeeping/61168 2015-10-12T08:00:57-04:00 Amy Cavender takes stock of what you can do to bolster the security of your online identity.     Automating Writing with TextExpander Scripts http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/automating-writing-with-textexpander-scripts/61163 2015-10-08T07:28:01-04:00 Text-expansion software can save you time, simplify tasks, and prevent mistakes. Jason B. Jones points to a post that shows how to exploit it more fully with scripting. Understanding iOS Diagnostic Logs http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/understanding-ios-diagnostic-logs/61160 2015-10-07T09:35:48-04:00 If your iDevice starts acting squirrelly, can you get useful information out of its diagnostics? Jason B. Jones points to a resource. Who Speaks at Meetings? Find Out with GenderTimer http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/gendertimer-and-manterrupting/61154 2015-10-06T07:45:58-04:00 GenderTimer is a free app that helps you become aware of unconscious bias in meetings. Jason B. Jones takes a look. Content Blocking in iOS 9 with Adamant http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/content-blocking-in-ios-9-with-adamant/61150 2015-10-05T08:00:33-04:00 Content blockers in iOS give users more control over what they see online, and how they are tracked. And the former ProfHacker writer Cory Bohon has developed one of the best, Adamant.