PicoFeed The Chronicle of Higher Education | PageView http://chronicle.com/section/PageView/437 2015-11-27T05:06:02-05:00 The Chronicle of Higher Education National Book Awards Finalists, 2013 http://chronicle.com/blogs/pageview/national-book-awards-finalists-2013/31695 2013-10-16T13:39:04-04:00 Academics are among the finalists announced on Wednesday for the annual prizes. UNC Press Receives $100,000 to Study Future of U. Presses http://chronicle.com/blogs/pageview/unc-press-receives-100000-to-study-future-of-u-presses/31675 2013-06-19T12:15:37-04:00 Michael Walzer Looks Back on His Decades at 'Dissent' http://chronicle.com/blogs/pageview/michael-walzer-looks-back-on-his-decades-at-dissent/31649 2013-05-30T16:30:37-04:00 Concerned with financial strains in both publishing and academe, the political theorist hopes that a younger group of freelance intellectuals will pick up the mantle. My Daily Read: Jessica Burstein http://chronicle.com/blogs/pageview/my-daily-read-jessica-burstein/31623 2013-05-17T14:35:21-04:00 Things you can’t do with an e-book: Literature scholar Jessica Burstein keeps a peacock-feather necklace in Stanley Cavell’s “The Claim of Reason.” 'Why I Resist' http://chronicle.com/blogs/pageview/why-i-resist/31595 2013-05-03T16:00:22-04:00 A composite of the notebooks and letters of a Japanese-American professor reveals his thoughts about resisting internment during World War II. Pulitzer Prizes 2013 http://chronicle.com/blogs/pageview/pulitzer-prizes-2013/31551 2013-04-15T15:45:10-04:00 Academics were among the winners of this year’s prizes in history, letters, and music. My Daily Read: Adam Grant http://chronicle.com/blogs/pageview/my-daily-read-adam-grant-2/31539 2013-04-05T14:00:41-04:00 The University of Pennsylvania management professor reads widely in psychology but finds time to maintain his comic book collection.  $1.35 Million Awarded in New Global Prize for Writers http://chronicle.com/blogs/pageview/1-35-million-awarded-in-new-global-prize-for-writers/31439 2013-03-04T14:00:39-05:00 Kingsley Tufts Poetry Award 2013 http://chronicle.com/blogs/pageview/kingsley-tufts-poetry-award-2013/31455 2013-03-04T13:30:06-05:00 When an Issue of a Newspaper Is a Poem http://chronicle.com/blogs/pageview/when-an-issue-of-a-newspaper-is-a-poem/31409 2013-02-22T15:35:49-05:00 An anthology’s new edition includes poetry sometimes so experimental that it may not seem poetry, at all. 2012 PROSE Awards http://chronicle.com/blogs/pageview/2012-prose-awards/31387 2013-02-08T16:30:44-05:00 New Director Named at U. of Pittsburgh Press http://chronicle.com/blogs/pageview/new-director-named-at-u-of-pittsburgh-press/31363 2013-01-17T15:24:11-05:00 Peter Kracht, now UPP’s editorial director, will succeed Cynthia Miller as director next month. A Snipe at U. Presses—and a Response http://chronicle.com/blogs/pageview/a-snipe-at-u-presses-and-a-response/31345 2013-01-16T17:00:29-05:00 Unkind remarks by Grove/Atlantic CEO Morgan Entrekin are countered by Peter Givler, the executive director of AAUP. Jumping Into the Field at the Deep End http://chronicle.com/blogs/pageview/jumping-into-the-field-at-the-deep-end/31301 2012-12-16T17:00:07-05:00 Four accounts of the at-times befuddling and even dangerous nature of ethnographic research. Mapping the Influence of University Presses http://chronicle.com/blogs/pageview/mapping-the-influence-of-university-presses/31210 2012-11-16T16:00:39-05:00 The Association of American University Presses has debuted a new interactive map to chart presses’ influence. Academics Among Winners of 2012 National Book Awards http://chronicle.com/blogs/pageview/academics-among-winners-of-2012-national-book-awards/31196 2012-11-15T16:00:26-05:00 The poet David Ferry triumphs in poetry, and William Alexander in young-adult literature. Words Fail Us http://chronicle.com/blogs/pageview/words-fail-us/31174 2012-11-12T19:05:28-05:00 Oxford University Press chooses the blandest of technospeak for its U.S. word of the year. David Perry to Retire From U. of North Carolina Press http://chronicle.com/blogs/pageview/david-perry-to-retire-from-u-of-north-carolina-press/31144 2012-11-07T12:15:45-05:00 The editor-in-chief will step down after 34 years with the publisher. My Daily Read: Donald P. Green http://chronicle.com/blogs/pageview/my-daily-read-donald-p-green/31078 2012-10-30T15:01:14-04:00 The Columbia University political scientist is awash in campaign news but finds time to keep up with the latest word in woodworking. Mo Yan and the Oklahoma Connection http://chronicle.com/blogs/pageview/mo-yan-and-the-oklahoma-connection/30998 2012-10-11T21:00:47-04:00 The University of Oklahoma Press will publish one of the next of the new Nobel laureate’s novels in English.