PicoFeed The Chronicle of Higher Education | On Hiring http://chronicle.com/section/On-Hiring/69 2015-11-30T12:04:10-05:00 The Chronicle of Higher Education A New Home for On Hiring http://chronicle.com/blogs/onhiring/a-new-home-for-on-hiring/42625 2014-01-03T16:25:00-05:00 Happy Holidays! http://chronicle.com/blogs/onhiring/happy-holidays/42699 2013-12-23T09:56:23-05:00 The Risk of Revealing the Secret of My Mental State http://chronicle.com/blogs/onhiring/the-risk-of-revealing-the-secret-of-my-mental-state/42643 2013-12-20T11:30:08-05:00 "As a professor, I regularly get documentation of students with this or that disorder. I have to accommodate them, and rightfully so. But what about my accommodations?" 'Get Your Associate Degree' http://chronicle.com/blogs/onhiring/get-your-associate-degree/42611 2013-12-18T13:31:15-05:00 A student makes the case for earning a degree before transferring from a two-year college. When It Isn't Yours Anymore http://chronicle.com/blogs/onhiring/when-it-isnt-yours-anymore/42183 2013-12-18T12:51:38-05:00 A professor's idea for a college trip gets altered by the bureaucratic powers that be. Name Game http://chronicle.com/blogs/onhiring/name-game/42581 2013-12-13T15:22:49-05:00 Gene Fant recalls some search deliberations in which a candidate's name came into play. Valuing My Time http://chronicle.com/blogs/onhiring/valuing-my-time/42575 2013-12-12T10:32:50-05:00 An adjunct explains why she won't do extra work free. AP Literature vs. College English http://chronicle.com/blogs/onhiring/ap-literature-vs-college-english/42547 2013-12-10T12:58:54-05:00 Rob Jenkins is surprised to find that his students who didn't place out of a basic college English course actually turned out to be better writers than their supposedly more college-ready counterparts. Do You Want Feedback or Validation? http://chronicle.com/blogs/onhiring/do-you-want-feedback-or-validation-2/42539 2013-12-09T11:34:45-05:00 Allison Vaillancourt wonders how to tell if a request is sincere and when it's simply a guise for obtaining recognition and a pat on the back. On End-of-Term Distractions http://chronicle.com/blogs/onhiring/on-end-of-term-distractions/42465 2013-12-05T12:26:41-05:00 'Tis the season for time wasting, Gene Fant says. A Sense of Camaraderie http://chronicle.com/blogs/onhiring/a-sense-of-camaraderie/42503 2013-12-04T10:48:23-05:00 We often talk of a spirit of shared vocation in our fields, but it's rare to see such fellowship meaningfully expressed in academic settings, George David Clark writes. When the Old Rules for Success No Longer Apply http://chronicle.com/blogs/onhiring/when-the-old-rules-for-success-no-longer-apply/42431 2013-12-03T12:28:33-05:00 Allison Vaillancourt offers advice to a new hire who is struggling to make the transition from individual contributor to senior leader. I Shouldn’t Have to Say It http://chronicle.com/blogs/onhiring/i-shouldnt-have-to-say-it/42447 2013-12-02T12:34:50-05:00 A professor considers adding a section on respect to his syllabus. No Thanks. http://chronicle.com/blogs/onhiring/no-thanks-2/42473 2013-12-02T12:32:15-05:00 A young female scientist explains why she turned down a tenure-track job offer. There's No Business Like Edubusiness http://chronicle.com/blogs/onhiring/theres-no-business-like-edubusiness/42443 2013-11-27T10:26:25-05:00 Think you can avoid the corporate world by going into college teaching? Think again, Jeanne Zaino says. Dude, Your Fly Is Unzipped! http://chronicle.com/blogs/onhiring/dude-your-fly-is-unzipped/42381 2013-11-22T15:15:57-05:00 How should you respond to being called out on your privilege? The same way you'd respond to being caught with your zipper down, a deep-sea biologist explains. Is Love in the Stars? http://chronicle.com/blogs/onhiring/is-love-in-the-stars/42393 2013-11-22T13:31:28-05:00 A postdoc in astrophysics finds that the formula for keeping your academic hopes alive is completely at odds with the formula for keeping your relationship alive. Move Over, Roger Federer http://chronicle.com/blogs/onhiring/move-over-roger-federer/42385 2013-11-22T11:16:43-05:00 Companies already pay big money to universities for naming rights. Why stop there?, an economics professor asks. Changing My Mind About CVs http://chronicle.com/blogs/onhiring/changing-my-mind-about-cvs/42349 2013-11-21T09:49:42-05:00 Rob Jenkins explains why job seekers should tailor those, too. Do You Really Want to Be the Rules Sergeant? http://chronicle.com/blogs/onhiring/do-you-really-want-to-be-the-rules-sergeant/42287 2013-11-19T09:55:01-05:00 If you are waiting to play "gotcha" with your students, don't be surprised if they're waiting to get you, too, David Evans says.