Appointments and Departures

  • Award: Kate Marshall, assistant professor of English, University of Notre Dame, awarded the 2014 Dorothy Lee Award for Outstanding Scholarship in the Ecology of Culture for her book Corridor: Media Architectures in American Fiction from the Media Ecology Association.

  • Appointed: Hashim Sarkis, professor of landscape architecture and urbanism in Muslim societies in the Graduate School of Design, Harvard University, to dean of the School of Architecture and Planning, Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

  • Appointed: Clarice Ford, associate vice chancellor for student services and executive director of the Diversity Center, University of Illinois at Springfield, to interim vice chancellor for student services.

View Appointments and Departures

Death Notices

  • Gregory Trandel
    Associate professor of economics, University of Georgia, October 21, 2014.

  • Maralynne Mitcham, 64
    Assistant dean of the College of Health Professions, Medical University of South Carolina, October 17, 2014.

  • Joseph Nora, 86
    Former assistant professor of medicine, Northwestern University, October 10, 2014, in Sauganash, Ill.

View Death Notices


  • 10/29/2014: Education

    The Knowles Science Teaching Foundation is accepting applications for its 2015 Teaching Fellowships. This is a five-year program that is awarded to early-career science, technology, engineering, and mathematics teachers. The fellowships are awarded based on three criteria: the potential to develop the content knowledge needed for teaching, the potential to develop exemplary teaching practices, and the potential to develop the qualities of a teacher leader. Applicants must demonstrate the ability to develop in each of these areas in order to be selected. Fellows receive stipends, grants, and professional development. Visit the foundation's website for more details.


    Web site:

  • 10/29/2014: Health/medicine

    The Pancreatic Cancer Action Network-AACR Career Development Awards represent a joint effort to encourage and support junior faculty who have completed their most recent doctoral degree or medical residency within the past 11 years at the start of the grant term to conduct pancreatic cancer research. The grants provide $200,000 each over two years for expenses related to the research project.


    Web site:

  • 11/1/2014: Humanities

    Opportunities for scholars at the Institute for Advanced Study for the 2015-16 academic year: Members pursue their own research in a community of scholars focused on intellectual inquiry, for a semester or an academic year. Stipends are provided if appropriate. Extensive resources include offices, libraries, restaurant, housing facilities, and support services. Applicants in all fields of historical research may apply. The institute encourages social scientific work with an historical and humanistic bent and also entertains applications in history, philosophy, literary criticism, literature, and linguistics. Each year there is a general thematic focus that provides common ground for roughly half the scholars; for 2015-2016 the focus will be "Borders and Boundaries." Residence in Princeton is required. Members' only other obligation is to pursue their own research. Scholars must have attained the Ph.D. or equivalent at the time of application and a substantial record of publication. Candidates of any nationality may apply. Scholars are not required to have a current institutional affiliation. Visit the institute's website for more details.


    Web site:

View Deadlines


View Events