PicoFeed The Chronicle of Higher Education | Advice http://chronicle.com/section/Advice/66/ 2016-02-08T09:21:16-05:00 The Chronicle of Higher Education Academic Job Hunts From Hell: Keep on Script http://chronicle.com/article/Academic-Job-Hunts-From-Hell-/235181 2016-02-07T19:00:00-05:00 The job interview is not a spontaneous exchange, it’s a minefield. By David D. Perlmutter Time Is a Feminist Issue in Academia, Too https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1279-time-is-a-feminist-issue-in-academia-too 2016-02-05T10:24:00-05:00 The creep of academic work has been met by the creep of caregiving duties. By Erin Wunker 'Dear Forums ...': Can I Parlay a Tenure-Track Offer Into a Non-Tenure-Track Job? https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1280-dear-forums-can-i-parlay-a-tenure-track-offer-into-a-non-tenure-track-job 2016-02-05T09:01:00-05:00 Also in our weekly roundup of the best conversations from The Chronicle's discussion forums: When to tell an employer you're leaving; what to say to a student who says, "But I always get a 4.0!" Academic Job Hunts From Hell http://chronicle.com/specialreport/Academic-Job-Hunts-From-Hell/28 2016-02-05T00:00:00-05:00 In a continuing series, David D. Perlmutter explores the less-than-pleasant aspects of the faculty job hunt for candidates.   Why Take a Job at an Evangelical College? To Help Students https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1277-why-take-a-job-at-an-evangelical-college-to-help-students 2016-02-04T10:50:00-05:00 Even if you're a poor fit at a conservative institution, your presence there may be a lifeline to young people who've always felt rejected by their Christian communities. By Elizabeth Dickens Don't Be Cruel http://chronicle.com/article/Dont-Be-Cruel/235095 2016-02-03T20:00:00-05:00 Unwarranted praise of student writing is counterproductive, but too much negativity is far more damaging. By Thomas Batt How to Prune Jargon From Your Popular Writing https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1276-how-to-prune-jargon-from-your-popular-writing 2016-02-03T11:58:00-05:00 The single worst habit we academics have is using overly complicated language to express complex ideas. By Theresa MacPhail Resources for the Academic Solo Artist https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1274-resources-for-the-academic-solo-artist 2016-02-02T10:01:00-05:00 What's an independent scholar to do without access to an academic library? By Jacqui Shine Your Dissertation Begins in Your First Seminar https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1273-your-dissertation-begins-in-your-first-seminar 2016-02-01T22:03:00-05:00 It’s never too early to master the act of successful, meticulous, long-form research. By Rebecca Schuman Should They Promote the Face of Gloom? http://chronicle.com/article/Should-They-Promote-the-Face/235094 2016-02-01T20:00:00-05:00 My colleague makes people miserable, and it’s holding her career back. By Ms. Mentor Will My Offer Be Rescinded if I Negotiate? https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1268-will-my-offer-be-rescinded-if-i-negotiate 2016-02-01T09:15:00-05:00 It's still rare for tenure-track offers to be withdrawn, but it does happen. Here are the red flags. By Karen Kelsky Inside the Graduate-Admissions Process http://chronicle.com/article/Inside-the-Graduate-Admissions/235093 2016-01-31T19:00:00-05:00 A study finds the pervasive misuse of test scores and too much homophily. By Leonard Cassuto My Post-Promotion Clarity https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1272-my-post-promotion-clarity 2016-01-29T10:09:00-05:00 Is there an equivalent of the posttenure blues for contingent faculty members who have received a promotion? By Katie Rose Guest Pryal 'Dear Forums ...': Am I a Professor or a Tech-Support Specialist? https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1262-dear-forums-am-i-a-professor-or-a-tech-support-specialist 2016-01-29T09:47:00-05:00 Also in our weekly roundup of the best conversations from The Chronicle's discussion forums: excused absences, negotiating a later start date, and how grants are paid. What Part-Timers Wish Full-Timers Knew https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1271-what-part-timers-wish-full-timers-knew 2016-01-28T10:10:00-05:00 If we had license to speak freely to our full-time counterparts, here’s what we would say. By Nicole Matos The Community-College Interview: The Process https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1270-the-community-college-interview-the-process 2016-01-28T10:08:00-05:00 If you haven’t heard back yet about an interview, it’s too soon to fret. Two-year colleges operate on a different hiring calendar. By Rob Jenkins The Job Market Across the Pond http://chronicle.com/article/The-Job-Market-Across-the-Pond/235056 2016-01-27T19:00:00-05:00 What American job candidates should keep in mind as they apply to British universities. By Rachel Herrmann The Limits of Facts in Teaching https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1269-the-limits-of-facts-in-teaching 2016-01-27T10:25:00-05:00 Telling students facts to correct their misperceptions may serve only to reinforce them.     By David Gooblar Applying to a Public Regional University? https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1266-applying-to-a-public-regional-university 2016-01-26T10:17:00-05:00 Here’s what you need to know before you apply, and certainly before you arrive for your interview. By Paula Krebs Feeding English Majors in the 21st Century http://chronicle.com/article/Feeding-English-Majors-in-the/235042 2016-01-25T19:00:00-05:00 A new course teaches humanities majors how to market themselves for the new economic normal. By Helene Meyers