PicoFeed The Chronicle of Higher Education | Advice http://chronicle.com/section/Advice/66/ 2016-07-25T13:54:18-04:00 The Chronicle of Higher Education How to Resign https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1473-how-to-resign 2016-07-25T10:23:00-04:00 Advice on writing the letter, breaking the news, and other details of your departure. By Natalie Tindall How and Why We Built a Majority-Minority Faculty http://chronicle.com/article/HowWhy-We-Built-a/237213 2016-07-24T19:30:00-04:00 Professors tend to replicate themselves, and diverse hiring committees tend to replicate their own diversity. By Kevin R. Johnson 'Dear Forums ...': How Can I Make the Most of a Visiting Assistant Professorship? https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1491-dear-forums-how-can-i-make-the-most-of-a-visiting-assistant-professorship 2016-07-22T11:13:00-04:00 Also in our weekly roundup of the best conversations from The Chronicle's discussion forums: how to write a diversity statement. Get Your Manuscript Out! https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1492-get-your-manuscript-out 2016-07-21T11:30:00-04:00 Peer reviewers play a key role in helping you do that, even when they say mean things. By Jonathan Rees Before You Apply Overseas http://chronicle.com/article/Before-You-Apply-Overseas/237193 2016-07-20T19:00:00-04:00 If you are thinking about taking your faculty career abroad, here are some factors to consider first. By Scott T. Gibson Career Lingo: 'You Did Great!' https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1489-career-lingo-you-did-great 2016-07-20T11:12:00-04:00 Unfortunately, hearing that phrase in an interview does not necessarily mean you will get the job. By David D. Perlmutter A Plum Teaching Job — Off Campus https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1488-a-plum-teaching-job-off-campus 2016-07-19T09:15:00-04:00 Why underemployed Ph.D.s should consider teaching at a prestigious private high school. By Rob Jenkins Why Would a Mathematician Want an M.F.A.? http://chronicle.com/article/Why-Would-a-Mathematician-Want/237167 2016-07-18T19:00:00-04:00 Enrolling in a writing program has expected and unexpected outcomes for a tenured professor. By Susan D’Agostino A Little Patience Goes a Long Way https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1487-a-little-patience-goes-a-long-way 2016-07-18T10:21:00-04:00 How to apply the forbearance you learned in the classroom to your new career in administration. By Josh Boldt What Classics Professors Can Teach the Rest of Us http://chronicle.com/article/What-Classics-Professors-Can/237129 2016-07-17T19:00:00-04:00 It's a lesson about mutual respect. By Leonard Cassuto 'Dear Forums ...': Will You Be My Mentor? https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1490-dear-forums-will-you-be-my-mentor 2016-07-15T10:29:00-04:00 Also in our weekly roundup of the best conversations from The Chronicle's discussion forums: guidance on where to publish a first book; starting off on the right foot with the new dean. The Reality of Doing What You Love https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1477-the-reality-of-doing-what-you-love 2016-07-14T10:21:00-04:00 Hint: It also involves doing a lot of things you won’t love. By Katie Rose Guest Pryal Do You Assign Enough Reading? Or Too Much? http://chronicle.com/article/Do-You-Assign-Enough-Reading-/237085 2016-07-13T19:00:00-04:00 The real issue is not the number of pages you assign but how to make reading matter in our classrooms. By Charlie Wesley Tests and Writing, Not Tests or Writing https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1472-tests-and-writing-not-tests-or-writing 2016-07-13T11:58:00-04:00 Whether you teach in the humanities or in the sciences, there are benefits to using both forms of assessment. By David Gooblar Explaining the 9-Month Contract https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1475-explaining-the-9-month-contract 2016-07-12T10:40:00-04:00 No, academics do not get the summer "off." They're just not paid for the research they do in those months to earn tenure. By Karen Kelsky Why Most Academics Will Always Be Bad Writers http://chronicle.com/article/Why-Most-Academics-Will-Always/237077 2016-07-11T19:00:00-04:00 No one should be surprised if much scholarly writing continues to be mediocre and confused. By Noah Berlatsky There’s No Such Thing as Asynchronous Teaching https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1471-there-s-no-such-thing-as-asynchronous-teaching 2016-07-11T08:51:00-04:00 To be effective as an online instructor, you have to be present in the present. By Nicole Matos Your To-Do List as Chair http://chronicle.com/article/Your-To-Do-List-as-Chair/237052 2016-07-10T19:00:00-04:00 Here are the five core responsibilities you will face as department chair. By Rob Jenkins 'Dear Forums ...': How Do I Politely Can a Co-Author? https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1469-dear-forums-how-do-i-politely-can-a-co-author 2016-07-08T11:37:00-04:00 Also in our weekly roundup of the best conversations from The Chronicle's discussion forums: prepping for a dean interview; when politics get in the way of an academic friendship. The Hiring Process at Teaching Colleges https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1468-the-hiring-process-at-teaching-colleges 2016-07-07T11:03:00-04:00 We're not a research university, and we don't interview like one. By Kevin Gannon