PicoFeed The Chronicle of Higher Education | Advice http://chronicle.com/section/Advice/66/ 2016-05-04T03:54:48-04:00 The Chronicle of Higher Education The Men Who Email Me https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1382-the-men-who-email-me 2016-05-03T10:22:00-04:00 Online harassment is a problem for women who write about anything. By Kelly J. Baker How Do You Get Hired by a SLAC? https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1381-how-do-you-get-hired-by-a-slac 2016-05-03T08:56:00-04:00 Job seekers find plenty of advice on applying to research universities but not so much about how to get hired at liberal-art colleges. By Karen Kelsky We Are All Public Intellectuals Now http://chronicle.com/article/We-Are-All-Public/236330 2016-05-03T04:55:00-04:00 Dealing online with students, administrators, and trolls is now part of the faculty job. By Megan Condis 4 Lessons for Aspiring Administrators https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1379-4-lessons-for-aspiring-administrators 2016-05-02T12:07:00-04:00 Doctoral training doesn’t exactly prepare us to admit areas of ignorance or demur from participating in some conversations. By Kevin Gannon Let Them Read Our Recommendations http://chronicle.com/article/Let-Them-Read-Our/236322 2016-05-02T05:00:00-04:00 Why graduate students should be allowed to see the letters we write on their behalf. By Leonard Cassuto 'Dear Forums ...': How Much Time Should I Spend on a Topic in Class? https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1380-dear-forums-how-much-time-should-i-spend-on-a-topic-in-class 2016-04-29T14:00:00-04:00 Also in our weekly roundup of the best conversations from The Chronicle's discussion forums: how to manage a colleague who's overstepping her bounds; my institute's terrible work-at-home policy.   Conference Challenges for People with Psychiatric Disabilities https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1377-conference-challenges-for-people-with-psychiatric-disabilities 2016-04-28T08:14:00-04:00 How to make scholarly conferences more accessible. By Katie Rose Guest Pryal Things Successful Presidents Do http://chronicle.com/article/Things-Successful-Presidents/236273 2016-04-28T00:55:00-04:00 They convey a coherent vision, they keep their own counsel, and other sound advice. By Scott Newman Managing a Successful Crowdfunding Campaign https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1376-managing-a-successful-crowdfunding-campaign 2016-04-27T09:44:00-04:00 The last of a three-part series on an alternative approach to financing a research project. By Andrew David Thaler How to Style Your Skype Interview https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1374-how-to-style-your-skype-interview 2016-04-26T10:23:00-04:00 A primer on what to wear and how to set up your space. By Dan Royles This Year or Next Year? https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1375-this-year-or-next-year 2016-04-26T10:18:00-04:00 A job candidate wonders when to go on the tenure-track market. By Karen Kelsky The Top 5 Faculty Morale Killers http://chronicle.com/article/The-Top-5-Faculty-Morale/236231 2016-04-25T19:00:00-04:00 A good midlevel manager can make all the difference in determining whether faculty life is satisfying or unbearable. By Rob Jenkins Learning From My Teaching Mistakes https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1371-learning-from-my-teaching-mistakes 2016-04-25T08:12:00-04:00 In graduate school, everyone who was anyone told me to focus on my research. Everyone was wrong. By Rebecca Schuman Academic Job Hunts From Hell: The Multiple-Offer Blues http://chronicle.com/article/Academic-Job-Hunts-From-Hell-/236229 2016-04-24T18:00:30-04:00 Sure, it’s wonderful to get more than one offer, but it’s not stress-free. By David D. Perlmutter 'Dear Forums ...': Why Do Search Deliberations Take So Long? https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1372-dear-forums-why-do-search-deliberations-take-so-long 2016-04-22T12:07:00-04:00 Also in our weekly roundup of the best conversations from The Chronicle's discussion forums: Should I think twice about taking a job with a heavy courseload?   You Are Probably Better Than You Think https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1369-you-are-probably-better-than-you-think 2016-04-21T09:49:00-04:00 Letting insecurity hold you back isn’t helping you or the people who need your talents. By Allison M. Vaillancourt The First Steps to a Nonfaculty Job Search http://chronicle.com/article/The-First-Steps-to-a/236184 2016-04-20T19:00:00-04:00 Start by making the most of the Ph.D. alumni panels cropping up across academe. By Julie Miller Vick and Jennifer S. Furlong Look for the Exceptions https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1368-look-for-the-exceptions 2016-04-20T11:12:00-04:00 In the process of correcting students’ mistakes, don’t forget to focus some attention on what they’re doing well. By David Gooblar Avoiding a Damaging Letter https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1367-avoiding-a-damaging-letter 2016-04-19T11:24:00-04:00 A Ph.D. candidate worries about being sabotaged on the job market by a difficult adviser. By Karen Kelsky The Vitae: Bookshelf: Rob Jenkins https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1366-the-vitae-bookshelf-rob-jenkins 2016-04-19T11:22:00-04:00 Five books that most influenced me as a writing instructor.