PicoFeed The Chronicle of Higher Education | Advice http://chronicle.com/section/Advice/66/ 2016-06-27T10:52:30-04:00 The Chronicle of Higher Education On Academic Envy https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1453-on-academic-envy 2016-06-27T10:47:00-04:00 It’s aggravating to experience professional jealousy. It’s even more irritating to realize it’s hampering your own work. By Theresa MacPhail How Your Journal Editor Works http://chronicle.com/article/How-Your-Journal-Editor-Works/236911 2016-06-26T19:00:00-04:00 A glimpse into the not-so-glamorous lives and habits of scholarly-journal editors. By Devoney Looser 'Dear Forums ...': I Survived My First Year on the Tenure Track, but I'm Ready to Bail! https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1452-dear-forums-i-survived-my-first-year-on-the-tenure-track-but-i-m-ready-to-bail 2016-06-24T11:55:00-04:00 Also in our weekly roundup of the best conversations from The Chronicle's discussion forums: tips on structuring short online courses.   Tenure-Track Wisdom: Allison Lange https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1451-tenure-track-wisdom-allison-lange 2016-06-23T10:35:00-04:00 The latest in a series of interviews with rookie academics about what they learned in their first year on the tenure track. By Dan Royles A Letter to Past Graduate-Student Me http://chronicle.com/article/A-Letter-to-Past/236870 2016-06-22T19:00:00-04:00 Graduate school is an exercise in people not telling you things. By Rachel Herrmann Cyborgs, Zombies, and P-Values https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1449-cyborgs-zombies-and-p-values 2016-06-22T10:26:00-04:00 Writing science fiction can make you a better science communicator. By Andrew Thaler They Want Me to Reapply https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1450-they-want-me-to-reapply 2016-06-22T10:25:00-04:00 How to proceed when the search gets postponed. By Karen Kelsky Small Changes in Teaching http://chronicle.com/specialreport/Small-Changes-in-Teaching/44 2016-06-22T00:00:00-04:00 In this series, James M. Lang argues that simple changes in our pedagogy — in things like course design, classroom practices, and communication with students — can have a powerful impact on student learning.  The Vitae Bookshelf: Jeremy B. Yoder https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1445-the-vitae-bookshelf-jeremy-b-yoder 2016-06-21T11:47:00-04:00 My top five books in the field of evolutionary biology. The Best Candidates Read the Ad http://chronicle.com/article/The-Best-Candidates-Read-the/236859 2016-06-20T19:00:00-04:00 A search for a new provost proved that many applicants fail to keep their readers in mind. By Rachel Toor Create a 'Yes' Filter https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1444-create-a-yes-filter 2016-06-20T11:54:00-04:00 Sure, I am quite capable of speaking on that topic. Whether I actually want to is the question. By Allison M. Vaillancourt Small Changes or Big Revolutions? http://chronicle.com/article/Small-Changes-or-Big/236839 2016-06-19T19:00:00-04:00 A new book says the higher-education model is too broken to be fixed piecemeal. By James M. Lang 'Dear Forums ...': Is It Odd to Get a Job Offer Without an Interview? https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1443-dear-forums-is-it-odd-to-get-a-job-offer-without-an-interview 2016-06-17T15:42:00-04:00 Also in our weekly roundup of the best conversations from The Chronicle's discussion forums: objecting to external reviewers; how to give a lab demonstration; evaluating student-evaluation scores; when to get new referees. Learn From My Mistakes as a Dean https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1441-learn-from-my-mistakes-as-a-dean 2016-06-16T10:37:00-04:00 The worst way to start a deanship is by sharing your great ideas for how people can do things better. By Paula Krebs We Keep Talking in Separate Rooms http://chronicle.com/article/We-Keep-Talking-in-Separate/236775 2016-06-15T19:00:00-04:00 When the subject is change, who gets to be in the conversation? By Leonard Cassuto 4 Simple Ways to Help Them Persist https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1440-4-simple-ways-to-help-them-persist 2016-06-15T09:58:00-04:00 You don’t have to reorganize your whole course to give students opportunities to learn from their mistakes in class. By David Gooblar So You Think You Want a Tenure-Track Job? https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1438-so-you-think-you-want-a-tenure-track-job 2016-06-14T11:11:00-04:00 Here are some of the many reasons why a Ph.D. reconsidered that career goal. By Liz Swan What Is a ‘Teaching Talk’? https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1439-what-is-a-teaching-talk 2016-06-14T10:52:00-04:00 It’s different from the far-more-common teaching demonstration required of most job candidates. By Karen Kelsky When Fellow Academics Make Fun of Your Family Photo http://chronicle.com/article/When-Fellow-Academics-Make-Fun/236774 2016-06-13T19:00:00-04:00 It's not quite Mean Girls With Ph.D.s, but it's close. By Marney A. White The Not-So-Splendid Isolation of Doctoral Study https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1434-the-not-so-splendid-isolation-of-doctoral-study 2016-06-13T10:40:00-04:00 What to do when the life of the mind subsumes all of the other parts of the body. By Rebecca Schuman