PicoFeed The Chronicle of Higher Education | Advice http://chronicle.com/section/Advice/66/ 2016-05-27T10:22:02-04:00 The Chronicle of Higher Education Say Nothing or Say No? https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1412-say-nothing-or-say-no 2016-05-26T11:13:00-04:00 Are women judged more harshly for saying no than their male colleagues? By Kristen Ghodsee The ‘Joy’ of Pregnancy in Graduate School http://chronicle.com/article/The-Joy-of-Pregnancy-in/236606 2016-05-25T19:00:00-04:00 Why was I so afraid, as a 28-year-old married A.B.D., of people finding out I was expecting a baby? By McKenzie Wood From Bench Science to Development Specialist https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1411-from-bench-science-to-development-specialist 2016-05-25T12:05:00-04:00 How a Ph.D. in physiology decided to pursue a fund-raising career for a scientific society. By Viviane Callier The Professor Is In: How Should I Reintroduce Myself? https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1414-the-professor-is-in-how-should-i-reintroduce-myself 2016-05-25T11:24:00-04:00 A Ph.D. wonders how to approach applying for her “dream job” at her undergraduate alma mater. By Karen Kelsky I'm Not a Student, I Just Look Like One http://chronicle.com/article/Im-Not-a-Student-I-Just-Look/236589 2016-05-24T19:00:00-04:00 Sometimes even a collared shirt and a briefcase are not enough to convince people that I belong here. By Aaron R. Hanlon Why I'm Saying Goodbye to In-Class Tests https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1410-why-i-m-saying-goodbye-to-in-class-tests 2016-05-24T10:42:00-04:00 Because they force students with disabilities to ask for accommodation. By David Perry Scholars Talk Writing: Jay Parini http://chronicle.com/article/Scholars-Talk-Writing-Jay/236572 2016-05-23T19:00:00-04:00 "You have to write a lot to get better at writing," so "don’t stop." By Rachel Toor When You Are the Weakest Link https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1409-when-you-are-the-weakest-link 2016-05-23T10:52:00-04:00 It is always better to be the one who leaves voluntarily than the one whom everyone has to work around. By Allison M. Vaillancourt Failing to Dare Greatly https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1417-failing-to-dare-greatly 2016-05-23T10:36:00-04:00 Is it only the tenured who have the freedom to take risks anymore in scholarly writing? By Rachel Toor 'Dear Forums ...': Should I Cut an Exceptional Student Some Slack? https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1405-dear-forums-should-i-cut-an-exceptional-student-some-slack 2016-05-20T11:15:00-04:00 Also in our weekly roundup of the best conversations from The Chronicle's discussion forums: backing out of a conference presentation; tips for chairs on writing faculty-assessment letters.   The Secret Life of the Doctoral Student https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1406-the-secret-life-of-the-doctoral-student 2016-05-19T08:51:00-04:00 Graduate-school culture encourages students to keep their emotional and personal crises to themselves. By Katie Rose Guest Pryal Lessons Learned by a First-Year Administrator https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1404-lessons-learned-by-a-first-year-administrator 2016-05-19T08:48:00-04:00 Are you considering making the leap from faculty to staff member? By Josh Boldt Why New Humanities Ph.D.s Should Leave the Country http://chronicle.com/article/Why-New-Humanities-PhDs/236528 2016-05-19T04:55:00-04:00 For too long, the U.S. academic job market has compelled us to see our careers in black and white. By Scott T. Gibson It Shouldn't End With an F https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1403-it-shouldn-t-end-with-an-f 2016-05-18T07:46:00-04:00 Those students you just failed? Give them a call.   By David Gooblar The Many Obstacles to Research Travel https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1402-the-many-obstacles-to-research-travel 2016-05-17T16:52:00-04:00 How often have you had to skip a scholarly conference because you couldn’t take time away from teaching? By Terry McGlynn Campus Visits for Newbies https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1400-campus-visits-for-newbies 2016-05-17T16:50:00-04:00 If the interview process for a tenure-track job sounds grueling, that’s because it absolutely is. By Karen Kelsky Defending Your Ignorance of Wonder Woman http://chronicle.com/article/Defending-Your-Ignorance-of/236493 2016-05-16T21:00:00-04:00 People writing nonsense about my subject is an occupational hazard of studying pop culture. By Noah Berlatsky We're All Failures https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1391-we-re-all-failures 2016-05-16T09:41:00-04:00 Seven scholars reflect on what they have learned from their many brushes with defeat.   The Contingent Faculty Retirement Crisis https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1401-the-contingent-faculty-retirement-crisis 2016-05-16T08:37:00-04:00 Burdened by the debt of the past, struggling to survive in the present, contingent faculty members often cannot fathom saving for the future. By Sarah Kendzior Small Changes in Teaching: Space It Out http://chronicle.com/article/Small-Changes-in-Teaching-/236479 2016-05-16T05:00:00-04:00 The essential ingredient of learning is time. By James M. Lang