PicoFeed The Chronicle of Higher Education | Advice http://chronicle.com/section/Advice/66 2015-11-28T22:27:20-05:00 The Chronicle of Higher Education Money Matters https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1208-money-matters 2015-11-25T10:17:00-05:00 What to consider in determining your compensation requirements and evaluating an offer. By Fatimah Williams Castro Are You Communicating Well as a Manager? https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1207-are-you-communicating-well-as-a-manager 2015-11-24T10:45:00-05:00 Don’t rule out meetings or other tools just because they have been misused in the past. By Melanie Nelson Download a Collection of Articles About Race on Campus http://chronicle.com/article/Download-a-Collection-of/234324 2015-11-24T03:55:00-05:00 This package of recent news and commentary from The Chronicle can provide a starting point for discussion of what might be done to improve the climate and conditions on your own campus.   Celebrate the Slog http://chronicle.com/article/Celebrate-the-Slog/234325 2015-11-23T18:00:00-05:00 Students don’t need to be rewarded for studying at every turn, but why not honor the march toward mastery now and then? By Allison D. Carr Can I Apply for 2 Jobs on 1 Campus? https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1205-can-i-apply-for-2-jobs-on-1-campus 2015-11-23T10:51:00-05:00 And other job-market dilemmas from readers. By Karen Kelsky Giving Thanks for My Mentors https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1206-giving-thanks-for-my-mentors 2015-11-23T10:49:00-05:00 I wouldn’t be where I am without them. By Jeremy Yoder The Alt-Ac Job Search: A Case Study http://chronicle.com/article/The-Alt-Ac-Job-Search-A-Case/234295 2015-11-23T00:01:00-05:00 How to prepare a Ph.D. for faculty and nonfaculty jobs. By Leonard Cassuto 'Dear Forums ...': My Spouse Would Be Perfect for That Job in Our Department. https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1204-dear-forums-you-know-my-spouse-would-be-perfect-for-that-job-in-our-department 2015-11-20T15:16:00-05:00 Also in our weekly roundup of the best conversations from The Chronicle's discussion forums: When is a talk an "invited" talk?   Working When Your Brain Isn't https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1203-working-when-your-brain-isn-t 2015-11-20T10:51:00-05:00 I don't ask, "What's the matter with me?," because I already know the answer to that question. By Katie Rose Guest Pryal Acing the Two-Year College Interview https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1202-acing-the-two-year-college-interview 2015-11-19T09:05:00-05:00 Create buzz around the basics, speak to our mission, and be sure to put community first. By Nicole Matos Do I Have Time to Write This? https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1201-do-i-have-time-to-write-this 2015-11-19T09:00:00-05:00 Writing about work-family balance will require a work-family balance. By Kristen Ghodsee Ivy League Fantasy Camp http://chronicle.com/article/Ivy-League-Fantasy-Camp/234221 2015-11-18T18:00:00-05:00 How a two-week training program for administrators changed the way I do my job. By Gene Fant Time to Retire the Adjunct Stigma https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1200-time-to-retire-the-adjunct-stigma 2015-11-18T08:20:00-05:00 Adjuncts are postdoctoral teaching fellows. Search committees must start seeing them as the veteran pedagogical experts they are. By David Gooblar How Do We Define Student Success in the Humanities? https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1199-how-do-we-define-student-success-in-the-humanities 2015-11-17T08:17:00-05:00 As humanities faculty members, we need to answer that question for ourselves — before someone answers it for us. By Paula Krebs Why We Should Teach Less, Not More http://chronicle.com/article/Why-We-Should-Teach-Less-Not/234182 2015-11-16T19:00:00-05:00 A heavy teaching load has nothing to do with pedagogical insight, really, but rather with real or perceived budget woes. By Hollis Phelps Simplify the Job Application Process https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1198-simplify-the-job-application-process 2015-11-16T08:33:00-05:00 None of us, individually, can fix the job market. That’s no excuse for making things worse. By David Perry Do I Sound Pushy? https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1197-do-i-sound-pushy 2015-11-16T07:37:00-05:00 In a two-page cover letter, it is a mistake to waste a single word on empty filler verbiage. By Karen Kelsky Small Changes in Teaching: The Minutes Before Class http://chronicle.com/article/Small-Changes-in-Teaching-The/234178 2015-11-15T19:00:00-05:00 Three simple ways you can set up the day’s learning before the metaphorical bell rings. By James M. Lang Surviving an Academic Slump https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1195-surviving-an-academic-slump 2015-11-13T08:49:00-05:00 Your first book is out, and you have an excellent idea for the next one. So why can’t you seem to get started? By Theresa MacPhail 'Dear Forums ...': There's a Fantastic Job Opportunity, but It's in a Location I Hate. https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1196-dear-forums-there-s-a-fantastic-job-opportunity-but-it-s-in-a-location-i-hate 2015-11-13T07:52:00-05:00 Also in our weekly roundup of the best conversations from The Chronicle's discussion forums: interviewing at a Catholic institution; adjuncting in two departments at the same university; and other advice.