• October 31, 2014
October 31, 2014, 5:16:17 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with your Chronicle username and password
News: For all you tweeters, follow The Chronicle on Twitter.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Urgent help for Assistant Professor at King Faysal University (Al Hasa)  (Read 15093 times)
coucoucbm

« on: April 13, 2012, 12:50:52 AM »

Hello All,

I wanted to ask about this university and its reputation (rank if possible). I was offered a position at the College of Science and I do not know what to expect in terms of salary, allowances...? I know that the basic salary is determined based on the PhD (from which university), years of experience, publications...?
I got my PhD from a reputable french University and has 8 years research experience in academia with publications. is there a formula or way to estimate what would be a fair salary? is it only based on negotiation?
It looks like KFU does not provide an allowance for kids education, it this normal?
Does KFU have a tenure track system?

Is the cost of living allowance still given in KSA? if yes how much is it?

Any help, information is appreciated.

Thanks
eddean

« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2012, 9:47:03 PM »

Welcome to the Kingdom. Remember that regardless of any answers you might receive, this is a kingdom so the rules can change at anytime. Good luck getting your passport back if you make anyone unhappy.
coucoucbm

« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2012, 11:19:19 PM »

Welcome to the Kingdom. Remember that regardless of any answers you might receive, this is a kingdom so the rules can change at anytime. Good luck getting your passport back if you make anyone unhappy.

Hi eddean,
Can you be a bit more explicit when you say getting the passport back? Does it mean that the employer holds it? can you share any incident you had in this regard?
Your welcoming message is not that reassuring ;0) have you had any bad experience as an expat in KSA, please advice?

Thanks
ab007