Grading advice

(1/4) > >>

aysecik:
Hello! I am a brand new assistant professor in engineering, and I am teaching my own class (100% mine) for the first time (I lectured, co-taught and TAed before, but having control of my class is nice). I have a question regarding grading, and would appreciate your feedback.

I was grading the second problem set yesterday. One question was, for example, asking them to list the different things they could do with a list of ingredients. There is a basic list you expect - pretty straight textbook answer. But a few students added extra options by combining different compounds in different ways, etc. Another student had included 4 different ways of removing water from his system instead of the one I mentioned in class. I was thrilled - I keep my class very interactive and try to ask them questions that challenge exactly this way of thinking. The normal answer is fine, and should get a full grade, but I think the creativity should be encouraged.

So I am thinking of telling them I reserve the right to give extra credit when I see them go the extra mile: A normal, textbook type answer is fine (and in many problems there isn't much else you can do), but if you used creativity and gave me something more, I'll give another point. No going over 100% overall (because that is another can of worms), and doing what your average class expects you can get full credit. But you will be rewarded for thinking like the way I like you to think.

Do you think this makes sense, and is it a good idea? It's easy to keep it consistent in my small class - I can easily give the exact same extra credit to similar answers, etc.

Thanks so much for all your feedback!

blackadder:
I think you are opening a can of worms that you will regret. Did you publish this at the start of the semester in your syllabus? If the normal answer gets full points, then how does a creative student earn more points if the limit is 100%?

Encourage the creativity - yes.

aysecik: