Hostile Student

(1/6) > >>

penultimate24:
I've been teaching for 7 years, and this research writing class is a staple. We just had mid terms, and one student, who has yet to participate at all (participation is worth quite a bit in my class) has been emailing me with questions about her grade. I've responded, clearly noting syllabus policies and ways she can earn more points to improve her mark. This week, she has been participating a lot, and this gave me hope that she was taking the class, as well as my advice, to heart. For a moment, I felt proud.

Then I went home and read my email. She sent a long rant questioning my rules, my professional judgement, and my participation evaluation. She then said she has been active in class all term, (not true), noted how she always attends, takes notes, follows rules, etc. Then she says she has been participating a lot this week, and it is "hard" and she feels it is unfair, etc.

Of course, she has not been doing it, then this week she did it, and now the labor is annoying, so she's clinging to lies, excuses, and gripes. I sent a strongly worded reply about how her mark reflected the base level involvement in the class, which is why she earned a C for participation. Yes, you must have the book, show up, take notes, etc. But I look for folks who speak up, email me comments, visit office hours, etc., as they get B's and A's for this mark. I also offer a ton of extra credit, and out of 2 grade levels worth 80 points, she has completed one assignment, for 10 points.

Okay, all that aside, I also learned tonight that she has been making rude comments about me and my class on Twitter. Not just tonight, but for a few months. When she received her first paper back, she said that she was glad I only cared about the class topic and citation models, and said I didn't give a poop about being a good writer.