Students' expectations

(1/2) > >>

Jellybean:
As a lecturer, I've always started my first day of class by discussing the syllabus and orienting students to classroom etiquette and what I expect from them for the duration of the course.  

Recently, I discovered that as lecturers we always tell students what we expect from them, but never what they should expect from us as a teacher. I was caught off guard when the question was posed by a student. I'm not sure if the response I gave was satisfactory.

If students were to ask you on the first day of class what they should expect from you as a teacher, what would you say to them?

Jellybean

Another teacher:
I always start out the semester by telling students that the class is a contract between us. I lay out my expectations for them (as you do) and let them know that they can expect the following of me:

I will be prepared and on-time for class sessions. (Note: students tend to take this as a given, but not follow through themselves. I like to point out that it goes both ways).

I will answer their course-related questions to the best of my abilities and seek external sources as necessary.

I will return their graded assignments within a set period of time (I teach once/week classes, so I strive to return assignments the next week. It may take two weeks if life is really crazy, but I'll let them know in advance).

I will treat them all with respect.

I will answer my e-mail in a timely manner (my personal response time is 24 hours Monday - Friday, except when I'm out of town. I let them know I should not be expected to respond over the weekend.)

I will help them as best I can as long as they are willing to meet me half-way and do their best to help themselves.

I will identify and recommend external campus resources they might find helpful on an as-needed basis (such as the writing center, office of disabilities, etc.).