Teaching with Zotero Groups

(1/1)

girasol:
I searched and found a few old threads about Zotero in the Tech Forum, but they are mostly about installation and related issues---all useful, of course, but I thought it might be time to start a thread in this forum for those of us using Zotero in the classroom.  It would be great to share tips, tricks, links, and problems.

For the past year I've been promoting Zotero in my classes, but not requiring its use, mostly because I am still learning how it works myself (longtime endnote user). Around twenty students in the last year did adopt it and reported to me how much it helped them structure their research projects, keep track of all their notes and ideas, and format citations.

This spring I am teaching a seminar (12 seniors enrolled) for which I will require them to use Zotero (either installed in their Firefox browser or as the standalone version), and they must register with the site and join a private group I started last spring for any students in my college who want to join.  The class subject is simultaneously focused and broad: the history of non-western flax-fiber basketweaving, so they all will do their projects (both a paper and a technical presentation) about flax-fiber basketweaving, but in drastically different cultural and historical contexts.

Right now I am trying to sort out how to structure/assess the level of sharing and collaboration between students for the annotated bibliography assignment. They are likely to use just a few of the same resources, with many more that are specific to their own project. My objective is to create a very visible pool of resources and material that everyone can feel comfortable sharing, though I'll confess a bit of anxiety about keeping the boundaries between the students' contributions clear.

Has anyone incorporated student collaboration through Zotero? Are there basic considerations to keep in mind when creating an open, collaborative environment?

bibliothecula: