• October 30, 2014
October 30, 2014, 9:07:19 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with your Chronicle username and password
News: For all you tweeters, follow The Chronicle on Twitter.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Conference invite and expertise level  (Read 6250 times)
soymilk

« on: May 12, 2012, 3:52:26 PM »

I just presented at a conference focused on disease X, when most of my work is in condition Y. Additionally, I'm a social scientist who studies psychosocial issues related to condition Y, but I don't see patients or do any clinical work.
  Despite all of this, I managed to put together a fairly decent presentation for a lay audience on social issues related to disease X (it helped that many illness issues have common challenges in terms of social support-disease management, etc.). I pulled this off by consulting with colleagues and family members who had a lot of familiarity with disease X. I even had some composite case studies put together based on these conversations.
However, I am wondering for the future just how far I should  be stretching my expertise. If I didn't have a physician on the panel to address some very specific clinical issues that came up during Q&A, I would have been really in a bind.
So, I am interested in the experience of others--how do you decide on presentation requests?

yellowtractor
Vice-Provost of the University of the South-East Corner of Donkeyshire (formerly Donkeyshire Polytechnic) (a Post-1992 University) and also a
Distinguished Senior Member

« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2012, 9:12:05 PM »

Wait--do I take it that you were invited to present at this conference?  And that you had to do some stretching to come up with an appropriate presentation (albeit one you were, in the end, satisfied with)?