Building self-esteem

(1/5) > >>

Rita:
I am sick and tired of the widespread reaction against social justice and self-esteem building. I grew up in a pedagogy of emancipation, premised on building self-esteem and helping the victims.

And now what I hear in this forum? Ironies about students' self-esteem, visceral reactions with the message "Stop whining!", and gestalt therapy-inspired references to stopping the "Poor me" games.

After 15 years of teaching along emancipatory lines, I found myself surrounded by individuals who would better leave academia and go express their Darwinist brand of cynicism in the corporate world.

LJK:
Please look up Darwin before you invoke him.  Darwin stated that it was the most ADAPTABLE that would survive, not merely the strongest.  I assume you are implying the strongest.

And as for sympathizing with students, I have watched (as a student myself) others prey on professors that soothed their egos and allowed them to get away with silly excuses and crying fits.  And those students laughed behind their professors backs, talking about what suckers they were.

Call it what you will, but a student is ultimately responsible for their grade and their performance.  And no where on this forum have I seen anyone advocate dragging a student down or insulting them or attempting to create low self-esteems.

IMHO, I think you are being overdramatic.

CC adjunct: