Uh-oh! All my student's grades are lost for the semester! Help!

(1/7) > >>

mrs_sunshine:
Rookie mistake. I use a flash drive to transport all of my documents and grading spreadsheets back and forth from work to home, etc. I haven't backed up my files since the semester started. So, obviously, my flash drive accidentally got bumped while in the computer and now it won't register. I can't access any of my files. I'm working with the best experts around, trying to get it repaired. It's not looking good.

What do I do? I teach writing, and while I don't have my student's essay grades memorized, I can fairly say what letter grade they've earned so far. I know who did not turn in their essays and I know who my A, B, and C students are. That said, I can't fairly give them a number or percentage grade since I did not memorize the homework, classwork, etc.

Any creative suggestions as to how to move forward? Can the semester be salvaged? I'm a relatively new teacher and this is my first year at a new school. I'm terrified to ask any colleagues or my dean about this situation. I keep thinking about how I'd feel as a student if I knew my professor lost my grades and couldn't say, without a doubt, where my grade was for the semester.

Has this happened to anyone before? If so, how did you handle it? I'm ready to go into full-scale panic mode (I've already done the whole crying thing).

Thanks in advance!

cine_elle:
Can you just fess up with your students? Tell them what happened, apologize, and ask them to bring in their marked papers so you can rerecord their grades? Even if you lose some rapport with many of them, I'll bet at least a few are sympathetic and have stories like this of their own to tell. It'll be embarrassing, but biting the bullet and being honest seems like the most ethical thing if you can't recover the drive.

mrs_sunshine:
Thanks for the reply!