Respect for Professors

(1/6) > >>

acadguy:
Hi All,

I would like to get your thoughts and advice on an important subject that has been bothering me for a while. I work as a Assistant Professor at a mid-level regional teaching university. I took this job 2 years ago, moved from industry into academia. Here are things, with proper advice, I feel that are real opportunities towards my continuous improvement as a teacher.

Most students does not seem to care about, pretty much anything and lack respect to the faculty. Few examples:
1. They want jobs (graduation) /internships (during summers to fulfill degree requirements. I work my rear end off to bring tens of employers through career fair and I announce it to all the students. Only a tenth of the students show up and the no-shows reasons for not showing up: (a) I had homework due (b) I had house chores (c) I had work. A 60K job (on their backyard) versus a 5 point homework or a house chore? Then few weeks from graduation they come to me and blame the department for not getting jobs.
2. Employer recruiting speech and interviews, only 3 out of 40 show up. Similar reasons as above. I work hard to bring these employers to campus and I end up being embarrassed. When I ask students to show up even with extra credits, they don't.
3. Always playing with smart phones in class, want the least amount of work. Just 10 years ago I used to read a whole book to prepare for final exams with no study guides. Now, I spend weeks summarizing them and preparing lecture slides (15 ppt files overall). I tell them the exam will contain questions from these slides. They want study guides even for that, they can't even read just 15 ppt slides? I tell them that is their study guide and they get mad and rip me off in my evaluations. The only thing I can do it just give them the final exam questions (which I am not going to).