• October 31, 2014
October 31, 2014, 4:55:25 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with your Chronicle username and password
News: For all you tweeters, follow The Chronicle on Twitter.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Corrections to discussion posts  (Read 18844 times)
kdice

« on: April 08, 2012, 10:52:48 PM »

Hello,

I just started a new online class and got an email from a student upset with how I had responded to discussion posts. I have taught about 25 sections of online courses, so I have some experience, but this is a new one.

Given that this was the first week of class, there were the usual problems with posts: based totally on opinion, factual errors, and simpler problems with APA style in those who did cite sources. Generally, when I comment on posts I try to do the feedback sandwich of saying something positive, giving correction, saying something else positive. In some cases I ask a question rather than make the correction myself, but sometimes I correct the mistakes.

This student said she was embarrassed to receive corrective feedback on the board. She said all her other instructors just ask neutral questions to raise issues. Any other feedback is given privately to students or general posts are made by the instructor not "calling anyone out." She indicated that me providing corrections just raised the stress level about posting.

What are the thoughts of the forum on this? I wrote back to her indicating the value to other students of seeing the corrections and reminding her that no one is expecting students to be perfect. I also am going to do everything I can to keep that tone on the boards positive with exclamation points and smileys, but I am having a tough time thinking I shouldn't correct students on the boards. What do you do? Do you comment on APA style on posts? Factual errors? Do you just ask questions to point them in a direction?
zuzu_
Frakking
Distinguished Senior Member

« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2012, 8:51:54 AM »