• October 30, 2014
October 31, 2014, 12:03:45 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with your Chronicle username and password
News: For all you tweeters, follow The Chronicle on Twitter.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How to grade MBA students  (Read 3931 times)
hopepage

« on: April 27, 2012, 4:36:59 PM »

Dear Distinguished Forum Fellows, This is my first time teaching the MBAs, and I wonder how I should grade them. It seems that in both of my classes, I have a fairly decent group of students. The grade is based on presentation, paper, and participation, and it seems their presentations are mostly good, with some differentiation but not much. So any advice/experience? Is it OK to give most or all of them As, since they all seem to work pretty hard (meaning, would that be a problem for me)? Or I should try hard to differentiate between the fine details of their quality of work and try to assign different grades, which seems some times quite challenging. BTW, I'm just newly tenured.
kshenko

« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2012, 5:51:40 PM »

I have taught marketing research courses for MBA students at a couple of institutions, and all I can say is that it would heavily depend on the departmental culture.

At an average business school where most students were part-time, I was pretty much expected to give everyone an A or an A-minus for completing all exams, assignments and presentations--regardless of the quality.  In fact, a B-minus was equivalent to an F there.

At a selective business school with mostly full-time students, by contrast, unless the distribution was totally skewed, I was asked to grade on a normal distribution, so the average would be a B, one standard deviation above the mean would be an A, one below would be a C--with pluses and minuses in between.

So, you should find out from your colleagues in that specific department.
hopepage

« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2012, 10:35:41 AM »