Blackboard and Other Course Management Software

(1/2) > >>

SL:
I am currently in my second year of teaching at the college-level. A few years ago, I was a new graduate student in a school that was known for its use of technology in teaching. The school I went to was big on the technology use in learning. Most of my professors used this approach while a small majority resisted. Before officially finishing the program, I worked as a teaching assistant in the business school. Because I particularly enjoyed the professors who used technology (as well as the one's who did not), I was anxious to use it in my classes, which I did.  

Since then I've relocated to another state, and have two, part-time teaching jobs. What I've noticed is only one out of the two schools even has a computer in the room. The school that does have the computer in the room, makes lectures easier, but I would like more interaction (blogs, discussion boards, etc.) with the students than I currently have, which I know having Blackboard provides.

I can assure you that I do not use technology to hide some minute incompetence, I just enjoy using it as a companion to my teaching. The majority of my students seem to really embrace it as well. Of course, I have one or two declare that they hate technology, which is always shocking to me because I always think that's the thought of someone from an older generation.

I am not sure how popular Blackboard is nationwide, but I guess I am wondering why hasn't this caught on more widely? Many schools that I've interviewed with in the past, when asked this question about technology, seem a bit in the dark about what I am referring to. They seem to not know how to tackle the question, and sometimes I frankly get the run around.