Mentoring Junior Faculty at an Average Teaching College

(1/6) > >>

averageprof:
I am a tenured professor, fairly recently so, who is mentoring a new faculty member in my department at my average four-year teaching college with a 4-4 load. My "mentee" does not seem interested in the teaching mission of the college (as an example s/he wants to teach same preps each semester instead of creating new courses, which the department wants), not that s/he is interested in research either (has said as much), and seems to be having trouble making the switch to the requirements (a fair amount of service included) of a tenure-track position (wanted monetary compensation for doing typical service work). The culture of my college is to write positive reviews even when they are not merited; my chair thinks everything is going swimmingly with this person (chair is not clued into personnel issues). I am trying to figure out ways to communicate positive ideas for improvement (these have been met with silence or resistance thus far by "mentee") and then if necessary how to word the assessment I have to write of "mentee" so that I discuss the positive but address the concerns I have. I would prefer to see improvement, but to be frank don't want a colleague for the rest of my working life who is not interested in doing the job.

Part of my hesitation comes from the fact I teach at an average teaching college and don't feel like I should judge others given I have published little, a few articles (I am not expecting "mentee" to publish a lot but to have interest in scholarship), though I have presented a lot and taught a ton of different classes, done different kinds of teaching much valued by my college, and done tons of service at different levels (department and college). I feel fortunate to have the job I do in a profession I love, but I am a realist: I am having an average career at an average school and I find I am uncomfortable acting like some kind of Voice of Wisdom.