Promoted to full-- what's left?

(1/6) > >>

tosser1410:
[posting from a throwaway]

I was promoted to full professor this year and am wondering what's left for me to work toward. I'm still in my early 40s and all my life I had some sort of clear goal to pursue. Now that there is no place to go higher on the professional track (I'm at an SLAC and have already been a department chair) I'm wondering about motivation and dealing with a nagging "is this all there is" sense of ennui.

College was fun. Grad school was socially enjoyable, if not intellectually so. I like my job...I'm a good teacher, an excellent colleague (based on my service record at least), and a productive scholar. I have a book coming out in the fall and other stuff on the burners, as well as a large (for an SLAC at least) grant currently under review. But unless I decide to apply for a deanship or start looking for jobs elsewhere, I'm at the end of my career ladder. Nothing to look forward too, no more promotions, no more raises other than steps for service, no more false "prestige" of ever-inflating titles. Basically I have 30+ years of this routine left before I can retire (I spent my 20s in school and will still be paying off loans until I'm 50).

What's left to look forward to professionally once most of the obvious hurdles have been cleared? Is the answer "nothing," and does that explain why so many of my senior colleagues seem to have checked out by age 55 or so?

parispundit:
If research and teaching aren't enough to look forward to, I think early retirement would be a service to the profession. Short of that, if research and teaching bore you nowadays, then what most people actually do is become Deans.

larryc:
Now you get to be you. Step 1: Figure out who that is.