Question about test formatting

(1/1)

bama_belle:
I have taken on a side-job (in addition to my University staff position) assisting one of our professors with her classes (grading, scheduling, syllabi, etc). She gave me a hard copy of her final exam and has asked me to come up with 3 additional versions of this test, with all the same questions, just in a different order. This is my first time writing an exam, so my question for y'all is: Is there a simpler way to do this than re-typing the test? Is there some awesome software or webpage that you I could use to assist with re-arranging the questions? If I do have to re-type it, is there a template I should use or just type it up in Microsoft Word?

Thank y'all so much for any advice you can provide!

jackofallchem:
It is difficult to give you the options without more information.  If the test was created on a word-processor, you could ask for the file and cut and paste to reorder the test.

If you are working for a faculty member who still uses a typewriter or who reuses tests and the original is all they have, then there are a couple of options.

(1) Scan it in and use optical character recognition software (OCR) to create a word processing file of the exam.  This will need to be vigorously proofread to fix the numerous errors.  If the test contains figures, tables, or equations, this approach may not work.

(2) Old-fashioned cut and paste.  You can photocopy the test, cut each questions out, tape them on blank sheets of paper in new orders and renumbered, then photocopy.

(3)  If the test is long enough (page-wise), you could just reorder the pages and renumber.

If this test is multiple choice and the students are packed in tightly for the test room, a sneaky way to do this is to make the first page of all four forms the same.  This will bait cheaters into assuming their neighbor's test is the same as theirs and just copying the other form's answers.

quietly: