• October 30, 2014
October 30, 2014, 11:16:39 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with your Chronicle username and password
News: Talk about how to cope with chronic illness, disability, and other health issues in the academic workplace.

Poll
Question: Offer package from Oman Medical College - Muscat  (Voting closed: June 16, 2012, 10:18:43 AM)
1 - 0 (0%)
2 - 0 (0%)
3 - 0 (0%)
Total Voters: 0

Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Oman Medical College  (Read 8309 times)
majedpharma

« on: June 10, 2012, 10:18:43 AM »

Hey everyone ..
I am new to this forum .. and i thought of sharing some information in an attempt
to get some feed back from you.
First let me give you the following information about myself: 1) i obtained my MSc and PhD (Pharmacy)
from the University of Nottingham, 2) i have 5 years of teaching experience,
3) i have funded research project from my current university, 4) i have good
record of published peer-reviewed articles in indexed impacted journals. 5) I my currently
an ASSISTANT PROF. Now to the point,
I have recently received an offer  from Oman Medical College - Muscat (affiliated to West Verginia
University - USA). The offer package is as follows: 1700 Oman Rial ( inclusive housing allowance)
+ Med insurance + round ticket for family + annual leave 45 days + gratuity.
The college also affered me the rank of ASSOCIATE Professor with teaching load (8 hours)
and some administrative duties. My question is .. do u think this offer package is fair and sound to what is
currently offered by Univ's in Oman ? do u recommend accepting it ?
Any experience out there regarding this college ?
Further, do u think the rank offered by the college (Assoc. Prof.) can be recognised by other
institutions/univs if i want to move to another univ. in Gulf or my home country?

Thank you

ab007

Veteran of the Magic Kingdom

« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2012, 7:40:38 AM »

Hey everyone ..