• October 31, 2014
October 31, 2014, 11:53:01 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with your Chronicle username and password
News: For all you tweeters, follow The Chronicle on Twitter.

Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Never work for the corrupted academic environment in Dubai,  (Read 33250 times)
ammona22

« on: September 24, 2010, 7:38:14 AM »

If you a planning to join a university in Dubai, you have to read this especially if you are a female and alone, regardless of your nationality. If you decide to go after that, do it on your responsibility

I am a senior female assistant professor graduated from USA with rich research and teaching profile.

I was discriminated against, and fired, politely forced to resign, from two universities in Dubai following the rules for trying to apply my academic standards in imposing the required level of integrity of teaching, assignments, and testing, and even was prevented from practicing academic freedom and threatened by phone to leave the country or be a sex slave for them.

Here are some details.

I worked in Hamdan Ben Mohamed University at 2010 after a phone interview done with the selection committee when I were in Egypt two weeks before hiring me. I was tempted with the high salary. I was always asked to modify students grades with high pressure from the dean and administration in the first place, and even when i rejected, they forced me to accept 2 students in the exam even though they did not attend the course at all and do not meet minimum attendance requirements imposed by the school rules. I was sexually harassed, yelled at, provoked, and intimated even by the HRM employee, I have evidence to support my situation.