• October 30, 2014
October 30, 2014, 11:19:54 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with your Chronicle username and password
News: For all you tweeters, follow The Chronicle on Twitter.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Too Much Loyalty? How To Move On.  (Read 9500 times)
dwiggin3

« on: April 30, 2012, 3:56:28 PM »

Hello – I have been a lurker here for quite some time however, this is my first posting. I would be interested in your thoughts on my circumstances and how best to turn what could be perceived as a negative, into a positive.

A bit of background, I currently work for a large public university and have held the same position for the past 10 years (yes, I said 10 years).  I am a 35 year old single female with no kids and no significant other.  Prior to that, I spent 2 years working for another College within the same University.  Before Higher Education, I worked in Law Enforcement.  I have a considerable amount of experience with program administration, admissions/retention, accreditation, student services, academic affairs and a growing knowledge of what we call “students of concern” (typically, those students whose behavior has someone concerned and that someone refers them to the Dean of Students Office).  While I may have been in the same position for 10 years, the job has evolved and grown tremendously as a result of my willingness to take on new responsibilities and quite frankly, the Department’s desperate need for greater administrative oversight.  In a University of over 35,000 students and over 3,500 employees, there really is no job like mine.  Most offices have 2-3 separate people performing what I do on my own.  My title has changed several times (reflecting my advancement) and I have successfully negotiated 2 pay raises.  Having said that, I feel I have taken this position as far as it can go given the unique circumstances that afforded me the flexibility I have had.  Sadly, my institution is not known for hiring from wit