• November 1, 2014
November 01, 2014, 1:34:46 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with your Chronicle username and password
News: Talk about how to cope with chronic illness, disability, and other health issues in the academic workplace.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Academia.edu Lag  (Read 6975 times)
bcohlan1
Distinguished Senior Member

« on: April 28, 2012, 3:52:16 PM »

Does anyone else find that academia.edu frequently refuses to load or freezes and causes the browser (Firefox in my case) to crash?  I'm wondering if this is an issue with the site right now or something to do with me.  No other websites do this, with the occasional exception of Facebook and Gmail (i.e. other websites that try to do way more things than a website should).

"ASSUMING I EXIST, I MAY OR MAY NOT BE DOING OKAY" -T-Rex
yeastie

« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2012, 5:40:43 PM »

It was being really wonky yesterday.  I'm new to it, so I don't if that was unusual, or common, behavior for the site.
egilson

« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2012, 8:48:01 PM »

[page source rant] My God, how much javascript does one page need just for a search, a bunch of pictures, some links, and a four-field signup form? And why in the world does it have four conditional statements to fix display issues caused by bad coding, including two to make the page work with IE7? [/rant]

Ahem. I don't know if it's your connection or the site, but if it doesn't happen anywhere else and your Firefox is all updated etc. then it's probably the site.
polly_mer
practice makes perfect

Have you worked on that project today?

« Reply #3 on: April 28, 2012, 9:00:34 PM »