• October 31, 2014
October 31, 2014, 8:56:27 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with your Chronicle username and password
News: Talk about how to cope with chronic illness, disability, and other health issues in the academic workplace.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: tips on interviewing at your alma mater  (Read 5000 times)
newtosearch

« on: April 16, 2012, 1:35:24 PM »

Hello-
A newbie here!  A friend told me about these boards and the information has been amazing!  I am currently happily employed; however, a position recently opened at my alma mater and I was asked by the search chair to apply.  I made the first cut and have a phone interview.  I found out that I know every single member of the search committee and they know me (and the search chair is my PhD advisor).  My question(s) for the group:

How does one approach this type of interview (close ties with the school and search committee)?  Different than any other academic interview?  Does the committee evaluate prior PhD students differently than 'unknown' candidates?

Would love to hear experiences and tips on an interview of this nature.

Thank You-
macadamia

« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2012, 2:12:52 PM »

Be extra-professional. Do not assume that you know who will be on your side.

A drunk man will find his way home, but a drunk bird may get lost forever.  Shizuo Kakutani
polly_mer
practice makes perfect
Distinguished Senior Member

Have you worked on that project today?

« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2012, 6:08:13 PM »

Make sure to be clear in your mind that you are a potential colleague, not a student.  You may have great memories of student things, but people want to hire a faculty member.  When in doubt, err on being a bit formal and speak from your faculty experiences.

I've joined a bizarre cult called JordanCanonicalForm's Witnesses.  I have to go from door to door asking people things like, "Good evening, sir!  Do you have a moment to chat about Linear Transformations?"
larryc