• October 31, 2014
October 31, 2014, 11:21:50 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with your Chronicle username and password
News: Talk about how to cope with chronic illness, disability, and other health issues in the academic workplace.

Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Transferring money from a European to US bank account  (Read 47565 times)
scampster
Distinguished Senior Member

« on: April 11, 2012, 6:06:49 AM »

Okay, I'm stymied and looking for suggestions.

I have a bank account at a major European bank where my current paycheck is deposited. I also have some debt in the US (a credit card) that I am slowly but surely paying off by $300/month. I couldn't figure out how to pay an American credit card from a European bank, so instead I just transferred money to my American credit union account and paid it through there. My European bank charges a piddling $5 to do this. But I found out today that my American credit union lopped $30 off of that. I'm new to this so I didn't realize that the bank receiving the money might also charge a fee (as that doesn't seem logical to me, but whatever). So I'm set for this month, but I'm trying to figure out a long term solution that doesn't require paying 10% to the bank each month.

Some questions to those more experienced:

1. Is there actually a way to pay an American credit card directly from a European bank account?

2. Are there any tricks to avoiding this big fee on the other end? Like can I transfer the money to Paypal and then to my bank account?

3. Is this fee usually a flat fee or is it a percentage? Or does that depend on my bank? It would feel less icky if I say transferred three months worth of payments at once and still only paid $30.

My credit card company was very unhelpful when I asked them directly about how I might be able to pay them electronically from a European bank account. It seems like this should be possible though, but I'm confused by the whole system.