• October 31, 2014
October 31, 2014, 9:16:42 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with your Chronicle username and password
News: Talk about how to cope with chronic illness, disability, and other health issues in the academic workplace.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Apply for post doc despite personality issues?  (Read 19525 times)
rockdoc11

« on: February 29, 2012, 1:39:01 PM »

So here's the situation:

I am in my fourth year of the PhD and am thinking about my next step.  I would like to obtain a post doc and then move into a research based position, possibly with some teaching. 

A former professor of mine has changed institutions and is now advertising several post doc positions.  The classes I took with this professor inspired me to pursue my current path and during my undergraduate years I asked him if I could work with him on some research.  He declined.  I was not given a reason why and have not sought out that information from him or others who knew both of us.  I now suspect that my personality may have conflicted with his.  Since leaving my undergraduate,  I have seen him at conferences and his behavior toward me was cool, if not a little rude.  While I am not eligible for these current post docs, I will be in a few years.  My field is small enough that it would be difficult, and possibly detrimental to try and avoid applying for such positions, especially since his work seems to be moving closer to my current research path.

So my question:
1.  Should I seek out the information that could help explain why he didn't want to work with me 10 years ago?  It may help determine if I should apply.  It may feed my own morbid curiosity.  Apparently, I am an abrasive, unapproachable human being and if my suspicions are true, then I certainly wouldn't apply.

I am looking forward to the responses.
larryc
Troll Proof
Distinguished Senior Member

Be excellent to each other.

« Reply #1 on: February 29, 2012, 2:43:25 PM »