• November 1, 2014
November 01, 2014, 9:17:16 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with your Chronicle username and password
News: For all you tweeters, follow The Chronicle on Twitter.

Pages: [1] 2 3
  Print  
Author Topic: sexual orientation vs racial/cultural diversity  (Read 59409 times)
jwahlig

« on: December 29, 2011, 9:27:28 PM »

Hey all,

I'm a PhD student who identifies as a lesbian. I'm working on an autoethnographic study with a couple of classmates that explores our experiences of being minorities within our doctoral program. My classmates come from diverse cultural backgrounds- both are immigrants to the United States, whose first language is not English, and whose external features clearly identify them as members of a minority group. I, on the other hand, am white, have grown up in this country, and would probably not be identified as a lesbian unless you saw me with my partner.

In participating in a practice of systematic self-observation, I've noticed that I'm very sensitive to my relative invisibility as a member of the minority population... and am perhaps even more sensitive to my privileged status as a white "American" woman. It seems unfair to me that I should have the ability to "pass" as a member of the majority group when my beautiful and wonderful classmates must fight so hard to even be recognized as the American Citizens that they are. My experience, I imagine, would be significantly different in my education, my career, and my day-to-day life if I had some visible cue that let everyone know I was a lesbian.

Anyway, I'm curious about my own experience of this and any other minority and non-minorities thoughts on privilege and oppression, visibility and invisibility, and differences between racial/cultural and sexual orientation diversity as they show up in the workplace or educational settings.
tuxedo_cat
Yet another zoologically confusing
Distinguished Senior Member

« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2011, 9:40:08 PM »