• October 31, 2014
October 31, 2014, 7:53:29 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with your Chronicle username and password
News: Talk online about your experiences as an adjunct, visiting assistant professor, postdoc, or other contract faculty member.

Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: No online teaching experience - how do I start?  (Read 25274 times)
cenparis98

« on: July 27, 2010, 11:59:00 AM »

Help!

I'm a very experienced teacher with a PhD in political science.  My wife's job is moving us all over the place so I thought online teaching would be a good option to supplement family income.  I'm a little overwhelmed by all of the information out there and I was hoping someone could provide some good advice as to how to get started with online teaching.  I have done some initial research but this is unlike any job search I have done in the past.  I need advice!

Thanks in advance.  Relevant professional details below:

Harvard PhD, 2003
Six years college teaching experience
Six years high school teaching experience
Currently located in Boston, but only for a year (after that, who knows?)

Thank you!

cenparis98

jonesey
All-Purpose Savage, Barroom Sociologist, and
Distinguished Senior Member

« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2010, 1:00:54 PM »

Harvard PhD, 2003
Six years college teaching experience
Six years high school teaching experience
Currently located in Boston, but only for a year (after that, who knows?)

How are you not in a TT job with a Harvard PhD?  Are you one of those Cambridge folks who couldn't leave Boston and, thus, remain an adjunct (I've met many in my day)?  Boston is a great town, but sometimes you have to leave in order to get a permanent job. 

Jonesey, I know you're a being of sensitivity and refinement.

Hanging out at the home of leftist zealotry.
cenparis98

« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2010, 1:06:10 PM »