• Tuesday, May 29, 2012
May 29, 2012, 09:36:02 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with your Chronicle username and password
News: Talk about how to cope with chronic illness, disability, and other health issues in the academic workplace.
 
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: EPS  (Read 3623 times)
secundem_artem
Stone cold humanist and still a
Senior member
****
Posts: 843


« on: July 17, 2011, 09:25:40 AM »

Have any forumites come across an outfit called either EPS World Link or EPS Global?  They appear to be run out of Montreal Canada and organize conferences (mostly biomedical topics) in China.  I have what an invitation to speak on a paper I recently published but it says nothing about covering expenses, honoraria etc.  They do have a modest web site listing a few dozen conferences listed but the one they sent to me does not appear.  Since it is apparently scheduled for mid August in China, this is not a lot of lead time to arrange travel, funding etc.

I searched the fora for a thread on this and came up dry.  Google searches do not return the usual "XYZ scam" pages that have been discussed on the fora.

I'm inclined to just ignore the whole thing.  But if anybody has experience or knowledge on this, I'd appreciate hearing about it.  Thanks
Logged

In my opinion, Secundem_artem is precisely correct. 

I think secundem_artem, rather, has hit the nail on the head.
secundem_artem
Stone cold humanist and still a
Senior member
****
Posts: 843


« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2011, 12:32:37 PM »

Answered my own question.

http://rmm257.blogspot.com/2010/07/spam-ference-in-china-anyone.html

Gotta search by the name of the 'conference organizer' rather than the company name.  Looks like a spam trawl for academics who hope an international presentation may beef up their cred. 
Logged

In my opinion, Secundem_artem is precisely correct. 

I think secundem_artem, rather, has hit the nail on the head.
prytania3
Distinguished Senior Member
*****
Posts: 37,250

Prytania, the Foracle


« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2011, 04:43:09 PM »

I thought it was earnings per share.
Logged

Clowns, I tell you. Clowns.
mouseman
Oh dear, how did I become a
Distinguished Senior Member
*****
Posts: 7,103

The Validater/Validator-in-Chief


« Reply #3 on: July 17, 2011, 04:49:25 PM »


I mentioned them here:  http://chronicle.com/forums/index.php/topic,79805.0.html

I still can't understand who would send money to register for a conference with no info on venue or speakers.
Logged

In the midst of the word he was trying to say,
In the midst of his laughter and glee,
He had softly and suddenly vanished away -- -
For the Snark was a Boojum, you see.
                                                  Lewis Carroll
secundem_artem
Stone cold humanist and still a
Senior member
****
Posts: 843


« Reply #4 on: July 17, 2011, 05:44:23 PM »


I mentioned them here:  http://chronicle.com/forums/index.php/topic,79805.0.html

I still can't understand who would send money to register for a conference with no info on venue or speakers.

Apparently another 'fail' for the search function on the fora!
Logged

In my opinion, Secundem_artem is precisely correct. 

I think secundem_artem, rather, has hit the nail on the head.
krobey
New member
*
Posts: 1


« Reply #5 on: July 26, 2011, 04:06:03 PM »

My invitation was to an epilepsy conference in Nanjing.  They cited a relatively obscure paper I had published on a rare genetic disorder having little to do with epilepsy.  That was the first of many red flags.  No information about an organizing committee, multiple conferences on the same day at the same price, no information about the venue, etc.
Logged
secundem_artem
Stone cold humanist and still a
Senior member
****
Posts: 843


« Reply #6 on: September 24, 2011, 11:43:06 AM »

It's some kind of scam.
Logged

In my opinion, Secundem_artem is precisely correct. 

I think secundem_artem, rather, has hit the nail on the head.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.9 | SMF © 2006-2008, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!