• November 1, 2014
November 01, 2014, 1:34:43 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with your Chronicle username and password
News: For all you tweeters, follow The Chronicle on Twitter.

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 6
  Print  
Author Topic: I'm thinking of leaving academia  (Read 20550 times)
momprof2

« on: January 30, 2009, 4:56:35 PM »

Hi All,

This is my first time posting on a blog so please excuse me if I'm breaking any rules??. I am a mother of 2 boys (2 year old and 7 month old) and I'm an assistant prof at a research-intensive university. I have struggled all through this tenure-track period wondering whether this is for me. I like academic life because of the flexibility, the autonomy, the intellectual freedom it brings but the hours, increasing expectations are killing me. Also, I like research but in making my pros and cons list I realize now that I'm not keen on supervising grad students. I don't mind teaching and the administrative side of it.

In the beginning things were going really well on paper. Despite questioning whether I could be successful in academics, I was able to secure several grants from very competitive national programs. Then I decided to have a baby. My research has really slowed since having children. I know my colleagues are wondering when I'm going to get my act together and pick up the pace. I should tell you also that I work at a university in Canada where we get 1 year maternity leave with each child. I've taken each year but continued my research program while I was off, bringing my baby in with me each week and now putting him in day care 2 days a week so I can just keep up with small things.