• November 1, 2014
November 01, 2014, 10:03:49 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with your Chronicle username and password
News: Talk about how to cope with chronic illness, disability, and other health issues in the academic workplace.

Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Faculty who have ADHD?  (Read 3270 times)
Anon
« on: April 25, 2006, 5:06:34 PM »

I see a lot of talk here about students who have this problem, but what about academics?  I am a phd student who has been dealing with ADHD all my life.  I started my Phd program after several years of non-academic jobs, where I had mixed success.  Now, I feel like I'm constantly struggling and constantly behind, despite medication.

I'm wondering how people manage to write papers and books and dissertations while battling this problem?   If you are talking medication, he it helped or killed your creativity?

I'm hoping to hear from anyone else who is struggling with this, because I feel very alone.
anonagain
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2006, 6:47:09 PM »

I'm not, but I know someone who did. I'll go ahead and identify him by name, because he is well known and has come out publicly with his struggle: Steven M. Stanley, professor of paleontology at Johns Hopkins, and a member of the American Academy of Sciences. Shoot him an e-mail. I'm serious about this. He is a nice guy and I'm sure he would offer you some words of encouragement, and hopefully some practical suggestions.

Best wishes to you.

[%sig%]
Thundering Marshmallow
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2006, 7:51:22 PM »

That would be me, my friend. A component of it is OCD, and I find medication takes the edge off the compulsion to do everything to the nth degree and takes the anxiety out of making decisions. The challenge in writing is decision after decision, and the impulsivity to make and break decisions can create an absolute swamp. And it has downgraded me from ADHD to simply ADD or 'short attention span theatre'.